power supply??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2007, 02:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: long beach, ca
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to azzyork
Default power supply???

hi, im lookin for a power supply that will fit my gaming needs. i want to be able to run GTX, over clocking my cpu, over clocking my ram, over clocking my graphic card, liquid cooling my system, about 3 to 4 fans, 1 cd/dvd drive, 200 to 300gb hard drive, and a q6600 cpu. my price range im willing to spend is about 80 to 120. thankz all.
__________________

azzyork is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 02:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: power supply???

lol. figures. HEY! LETS GO OUT AND GET THE BEST STUFF, AND NOT OVERKILL ON PSU!!! you overkill on everything else... but psu. the psu IS THE MOST important part, if your going to even THINK about overkill, that's the first thing. get a 2900xt, and then save up for a corsair 620, or pc power and cooling 750. maybe a silverstone or toughpower...
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 07:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: power supply???

get a 600-700w psu by either OCZ, Seasonic, Enermax, Silverstone, Hiper
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 07:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: power supply???

620W corsair HX
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 09:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: power supply???

Spend the most important money, on the PSU, like psp_crazy1 said.

I agree with saltynay's suggestion of the Corsair 620HX

Here are others, that can run the system, you're planning on:
Corsair 520HX
Seasonic 550w
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 02:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: power supply???

the 520 is more suited for the current specs with allowance for small pgrade the 620 should only be bought if your planning something fairly major being added to the system I assumed by your proposed specs that you will probably upgrade the graphics card and add an extra couple of hdd's in the futurs
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 03:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: power supply???

lol, sorry for flipping out, i just want to get it through everyones mind to spend more money on psus...
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 03:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 263
Default Re: power supply???

With OCZ taking over PC Power and Cooling I am hoping that OCZ's PSUs get even better. These are 2 very good units that are in the lower price range that I would recommend.

$109.99 -$10 mail in rebate = $99.99
OCZ GameXStream OCZ600GXSSLI ATX12V 600W Power Supply - Retail

$144.99 -$25.00 mail in rebate = $119.99
OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI ATX12V 700W Power Supply 100 - 240 V - Retail

And that fits into your 80-120 range and gets you a high quality PSU.
Bot2011 is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 03:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: power supply???

Understand as well though there are many cheap PSU's that are very good as well so you don't ALWAYS buy the most expensive to be safe. Also a lot of times budget PSU's do work even though they are not recommended...it's just if you want a PSU to last for a while get one thats trusted.

Xclio, Rosewill, and Ultra and my 3 favorite "Budget" PSU's that perform excellent and won't eat your budget. However only select models of the Ultra and Rosewill I want to add are recommended.

EDIT: I don't like the OCZ. Way too high of a Ripple on such an expensive unit.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 03:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default Re: power supply???

Quote:
Originally Posted by psp_crazy1 View Post
lol, sorry for flipping out, i just want to get it through everyones mind to spend more money on psus...
i know what you mean its kinda not to smart running all those goodies on a 80 dollar psu, because 6 months later people will come back asking. I fried my cpu and i have no idea why? then they tell you what psu they have and you're jaw just drops. Point being a cheap psu can kill you're system would you rather spend 200$ now or 2100 rebuilding you're system later.
__________________

__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeon® X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
7 VSB from power supply?? GregJ Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-14-2007 11:36 AM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM
power AC adapter with PC power supply? samuraiwarrior Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-23-2007 12:54 PM
just changed power supply, weird harddrive problem (sata) idrisguitar Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-31-2007 11:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.