Power supplies? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2005, 12:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
you should unless your getting an Antec Case with An Antec PSU.
He is, but the psu included is only 350w =/. Am I alone in thinking that this probably isn't enuff? :freak:
__________________

Camden is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 12:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

^^ you aren't alone. he needs more power.
__________________

__________________
I\'m happy with it.
X2 4400+
ATI X1800 XT
2x1gb Corsair XMS CL2
1 Raptor 74 gig
ABIT AN8 Ultra
OCZ Powerstream 520w
BColes is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 12:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

If your PSU doesn't have a PCI Express plug which is six pins, you can buy a adapter, which uses two four pin molex to convert to 1 six pin. Like this:

HAVOC is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Camden
He is, but the psu included is only 350w =/. Am I alone in thinking that this probably isn't enuff? :freak:
No, your not alone because you are dead on right. He needs a dependable PSU that should be no less than 500 watts with his 12v rails at least a minimum combined 30A.
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 03:23 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default

So will I be OK with my stock or what? I'm not made of money, but post one that will at least WORK from newegg.
__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 04:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

What the consensus is so far is that you need a more powerful PSU than what you have with what you want to do. How much money can you spend?
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 04:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Details Details, I was waiting for him to reply before I said anything else.


should spend no less then 49.99.

for the 450 watt forton, thats as cheap as I would go. But everyone pretty much knows what Ill reccomend and if I have to Ill say it but its usally not required.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 05:44 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default

I'm buying a 7800GT for $319, an $81 mobo, $86 worth of RAM, and a $62 harddrive- plus I gotta find someone to install the mobo for me and I have to get XP installed so I'd say that's about $100 more. Right now I think $50 is my LIMIT. Is this a good power supply?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817193001
__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 05:57 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

Prolly not. It has no pfc.

Don't go for the cheapest solution on a psu. Idk how many times that needs to be said. You're desktop'll look great with such a nice gfx card and all, especially when it's all completely fuggin -fried- b/c a lame psu couldn't supply it. =S
Camden is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 05:58 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I just showed you one.

people just don't get it, you should go with Antec Smart power 500 watt for 68.99 at newegg, though ur cheap as hell so go with a 450 watt forton, 49.99.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.