Power supplies? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2005, 09:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default Power supplies?

How can I tell if my stock powersupply will have enough plugs to hook up a 7800GT?
What's a good one on newegg that's affordable?
__________________

__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

I think most new PSU`s have PCI express connectors instead of using the molex ones. So go with an antec truepower ,tagan or enermax. My PSU is antec truepower 550 watts and has a special connector for PCI express cards, although I dont use it as my graphics card came with a molex adaptor dont no if theres much difference in using either.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

Yuh. There's all sorts of psu plugs/adapters.
Camden is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 11:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default Re: Power supplies?

Quote:
Originally posted by noobzor
How can I tell if my stock powersupply will have enough plugs to hook up a 7800GT?
What's a good one on newegg that's affordable?
I am always highly suspicious of stock power supplies. I like baronvongogo's PSU because it is the one I am going to use in my new build. What is affordable for you?
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 11:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default

My stock supply came with my
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129148

Is this going to be OK to at least use the 7800GT because I'm already buying a new harddrive, mobo, RAM, and the 7800GT.
__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 11:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

hmm It might be its an antec case so it`ll come with an antec PSU I think which is good. And its new so should have all the connectors for a 7800GT even if it doesnt you can buy power cables and PCI express molex connectors.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 11:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default

So I won't have to buy a whole new power supply?
__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 11:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

use this:

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_sup...or.php?cmd=AMD

put your specs in and it`ll tell you how many watts your pc will need. If you get an antec PSU with the case though i wouldnt worry im sure it`ll be fine.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 12:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

A system with a 7800gt would probably need more than a mere 350 watts; that's the wattage suggested for low-end systems =/. A good psu's more important than a good gfx card, in a lot of opinions. If you're gonna spend the money to get a dang good gfx card, at least protect your investment with a sufficient psu ~_~. It'll be worth it to pony up for at least a 400 or 450w psu.
I run THIS , and it works fine and it's not too much of a budget breaker.
Camden is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 12:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by noobzor
So I won't have to buy a whole new power supply?
you should unless your getting an Antec Case with An Antec PSU.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.