Power Supplies - Page 9 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2006, 11:48 PM   #81 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default

o sorry i was gonna post this link in the last post lol i forgot:
http://www.gruntville.com/reviews/PS..._680/page2.php
theres a site with the specs but it is a thermaltake purepower 680 watt if u wanna look it up urself
__________________

keyser09 is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:53 PM   #82 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

The specs are on that page also.

From the looks of it, it has 3 x +12v rails running at 15A, 15A, and 8A. Combined, that makes 38A, only 2A more than the Forton. It provides about twice the Forton's Amps on the +3.3v rail, and about 6A more on the +5v rail, but those don't matter nearly as much as the +12v rails.

The other two rails are what are pushing the total wattage of the PSU up, hiding the relative inadequacies of the +12v ones. The specs speak for themselves.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:56 PM   #83 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default

heh heh.....hahaha i gotta better psu than tri's beloved fortron!muahaha and i kno watchu gonna say next oooo nooo daaaat means its overkill...lol....
keyser09 is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:58 PM   #84 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

No, I'm going to say that you wasted a ton of money on a PSU that's barely (~25W) better than the one that costs a lot less. Good job.

Need proof that the +12v rails are the most important? Besides various articles out there, here's what Wiki has to say about it;

Quote:
Originally posted by Wikipedia
+12V: In modern PSUs, the most important voltage rail is the +12V rail which supplies power to components that draw the most amount of current. These are usually the cpu, hard drives or other storage peripherals, cooling devices, and video cards. Current fluctuations will usually cause malfunction, hence the importance of a good +12V rail.
Your PSU is an excellent example of why measuring PSUs by wattage is a bad idea. Your 680W PSU is almost the same as the 400W Forton. If Thermaltake wasn't marketing out of it's a$$, your PSU would've been labeled a 425W PSU.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:59 PM   #85 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TriEclipse
That's because of the ATX2.0 standards. Intel set new standards that said that each +12v rail shouldn't have more than 18A each because any more would cause instability and deliver "dirty" power. This led to the rise of the Dual, and Triple, and now Quad +12v rails.


So is PC and Power Cooling, an excellent power supply company, rebels?


They have a 750 PSU with one rail, and I believe it has 54 Amps on it.


Thats awesome!
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:59 PM   #86 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Whats the most expensive and best fortron got for 12v rails?
(ill look for thermaltakes)
keyser09 is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 12:02 AM   #87 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

lord anthrax i think i will faint now we could power austin on that psu
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 12:02 AM   #88 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
So is PC and Power Cooling, an excellent power supply company, rebels?


They have a 750 PSU with one rail, and I believe it has 54 Amps on it.


Thats awesome!
Ho-ly Cr-ap! One rail has 60A on it!

Maybe that was made before the ATX 2.0 standards were in place. If you filter Newegg results for 500W+ PSUs that do not have more than one +12v rail, you will find a lot of them that go way over the present 18A industry limit.

Although 60A is pretty ridiculous. I guess that was the only way for them to get 750W.

Compare it to the 700W OCZ GameXStream which has 4 x +12v rails running at 18A each.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 12:03 AM   #89 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Then you go do whatever you want. But for the newcomers to this forum; Tell them what I've told you in this thread. You have no right to lie to them and waste their money.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 12:04 AM   #90 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Whats your fortron psu tri?wats it called?how much is it?
__________________

keyser09 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.