Power Supplies - Page 8 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2006, 11:27 PM   #71 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

¿ worked for me ?
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:32 PM   #72 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fade2black2004
Fortron> Antec is an opinion not a fact.
There are more amps on the 400W Forton than on the 400W Antec. Fact.

The number of Amps on the +12v rail is a major factor in determining the quality of a PSU. Fact.

The 400W Forton is better than the 400W Antec. Fact. Transitive Property at work.

Quote:
Originally posted by gmanych
Would a E6600, 8800GTX, Asus P5B, Sata HDD, 3 Fans cope with 600W
That setup would cope with the 400W PSU I linked in my first post.

And it depends on which 600W you're talking about. Some 600Ws are good and have lots of amps on the +12v rails. That makes them overkill. Other 600W PSUs are bad and have few amps on the +12v rails, which kind of beats the purpose of buying a high-wattage PSU.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:32 PM   #73 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

¿ son locos muchachos?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:33 PM   #74 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Take your upside down question mark trash somewhere else and stop crapping up my thread...
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:34 PM   #75 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

tri just so you know i have a 650 watt antec not a 400.
which i paid 100 bucks for i dont see any psu for that price thats as good imo

EDIT: ^ see thats what im talking about, is that really necessary. you can get your opinions and whatnot across to people without being an *******
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:35 PM   #76 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

tri-e, when you say 'a few amps', how many is that?
i notice that most psu's that i have looked at have no more than 18-20 A per rail.
not being fecicious, just wondering
¿ eeeeeeeeeeeeee?
sorry dude just had to do the ¿
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:36 PM   #77 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Yo tri check dis out tell me how many amps i got on my 12v rail
keyser09 is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:37 PM   #78 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

dude i told nitestick to post your original thread.
that was good.
this is stupid arguing.
and
¿
is better than that...
¿ no ?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:44 PM   #79 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

well i hope the 1st post gets stickied im off to bed for the night.

peace evryone
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:45 PM   #80 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nagasama
tri-e, when you say 'a few amps', how many is that?
i notice that most psu's that i have looked at have no more than 18-20 A per rail.
That's because of the ATX2.0 standards. Intel set new standards that said that each +12v rail shouldn't have more than 18A each because any more would cause instability and deliver "dirty" power. This led to the rise of the Dual, and Triple, and now Quad +12v rails.

I'm not quite sure when I said "a few amps" but I'll take your word for it. In the 400W Antec's case, the amps were 10A on +12v1 and 15A on the +12v2. In the Forton's case, the amps were 18A on +12v1 and 16A on +12v2. Combined, the Forton delivered 9A, or 108W more, on it's +12v rails to the components.

Quote:
Originally posted by nagasama
dude i told nitestick to post your original thread.
If he does that, then I need to be allowed to edit the post and include information from another long post that I made 3 posts below the first one. I think the addition is critical for people to understand the point, and the loss of the second post wouldn't be very convenient.

Quote:
Originally posted by keyser09
Yo tri check dis out tell me how many amps i got on my 12v rail
What PSU do you have?
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.