Power Supplies - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2006, 10:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

Nitestick's edit: this is not the first post of the original thread. i had to do a massive clean up and remove/edit a lot of posts. the original post is now stickied in Building Buying and Upgrading for General PCs if you wish to read it

so does anyone really need 1KW PSU's?
__________________

TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 10:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheEnd187
so does anyone really need 1KW PSU's?
Does anyone need? Or do they just want to look cool
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 11:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default

but wont they need a bit more than they use incase they go over?wont that make cumpouter crash or something?
keyser09 is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 02:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by keyser09
but wont they need a bit more than they use incase they go over?wont that make cumpouter crash or something?
Need a bit more? Dude, it would be consuming 273W on a 400W PSU. And that consumption is at max load, it doesn't go over that during normal operation. Yeah, if you used a 273W PSU, then it would need more. But if you read my entire post, I specifically told you not to get a 273W PSU. Instead, I linked a 400W PSU.

And a 400W PSU leaves 50% overhead, that's the extra room I've left for them incase they ever go over that (as happens during bootup).

The point is, getting a 700W PSU is just really effing retarded, no one needs that much "insurance" on their build for anything in the next couple of years.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 08:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default

Nice post. I really learned something there.

We just built with an OCZ 700 Watt GameXStream.

I guess we could have saved alittle :-(

We were thinking of the four 12 volt rails at the time so we would be sure we could handle about any video card combination possible....lol

I guess we figured alittle too much, lol

Thanks for the great post.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 08:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

I have an OCZ GameXStream 700W too. There's no reason to have regret though, we buy those because we know they will handle things years from now and they won't go out on us. If there is ANYTHING you shouldn't compromise, it better be your PSU. Because if it goes out, you can bet a couple more things will go out with it.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 09:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 112
Default

I REALLY needed this post. I have been using power supply calculators to work out how much my new build would require, and always thought it was off. Looking around everyone seems to say "You need at least 500W PSU to run XYZ", now it seems the calculator is correct. I will probably look into downgrading my PSU in that case, maybe going for a 400W one. I cannot see the point of going SLI/XFIRE, nor quad core. I also never cared for the high-speed hard drives. I am happy with a 7200RPM one.

I have a question though, Is there a chart rating the quality of different companies? I have seen some REALLY cheap PSUs (example, Sansun 450W for 24.99, or Ebuyer Value 550W for £21.99) . I am a big fan of reliablity over performance.

Again, thanks for this post.
fangs2000 is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 10:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

im still glad i got my 650watt antec psu. now i dont have to worry about upgrading for a year or so
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 06:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

AND I bought it because it has a pretty blue LED light hehe. It matches my NZXT Apollo Blue case, and my Sapphire x1950PRO blue vid card

That sooo makes it worth it

I dunno. I look at it this way. People also don't NEED Porsches. But they buy them anyway, and that doesn't mean they are stupid. At least they bought a good quality car.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 07:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Now you're just making excuses trying to justify something that I've explained is pointless. Just like a Porsche owner tries to justify the purchase to themselves using every excuse possible. Atleast with a Porsche you can feel the difference; a 700W PSU isn't going to act any differently than a 400W one if neither of them is being pushed.

And for the record, Fortons are better quality PSUs that OCZ.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.