Power Source for Graphics Cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2006, 10:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default Power Source for Graphics Cards

Hi Everyone,

1. Can someone please explain where the 7900GS (and similar cards
needing a dedicated power supply) draws its power from? I mean,
there's a power cord alright, and one end goes into the card itself,
so where does the other end go? Into the motherboard? Into the SMPS?
Or a plug point on my wall?
__________________

godling is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 10:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

theres a 6 pin plug that goes from your psu to your card and i believe it gets a little power fromt he expansion slot itslef
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 11:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Well on my 7900gs, their is a 6pin pci-e power plug on the front or back of the card. whichever you want to call it. you either have the same plug on your power supply, or you use the 4pin molex to 6 pin adapter.

Like my crappy paint drawing that I whipped out.

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 06:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Hey, not crappy at all, but bloody helpful.
Thanks a lot, both of you. :-)
godling is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 07:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Its simple, when you get the card and the wiring it becomes obvious what goes where and what plugs in etc, as long as you have a unused power plug coming from your psu, or i power point on your actual PSU(like i have) then you will be fine.
jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.