Power Requirements for Q6600? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2007, 10:25 PM   #31 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Power Requirements for Q6600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumping_Bean514 View Post
Good point, I guess I wouldn't want my mobo to be slowly degrading which people wouldn't really notice. Even if they did they wouldnt suspect the PSU like you stated. That could be a reason for lack of complaints on newegg. You stated that the HX has more watts then the OCZ. could you elaberate on that? As far as I know the OCZ is 18amps on 4 rails while the HX is 18amps on 3 rails. Regardless, they are both fantastic power supplies. I still haven't made up my mind on which is the better value though.
You don't just add up the amps when you have multiple rails and the Corsair was dissected and found to actually have 1 large rail of 50 amps.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 10:33 PM   #32 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: Power Requirements for Q6600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
You don't just add up the amps when you have multiple rails and the Corsair was dissected and found to actually have 1 large rail of 50 amps.
Could you explain to me the best way to find the amps on a PSU then.
__________________

__________________
Bedroom Rig:
HP Pavillion Mini Tower Case
Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 800MHz
Hyundai 128MB PC100 SDRAM @ 3-2-2-5
Vision Tek Xtasy 9200SE PCI 128MB @ 200/400
19GB Quantum Fireball

Don't be jealous!
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
Antec Sonata II Power Problem: BSoderstrom Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-12-2007 05:27 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
8900gts power requirements teh_mapn00b Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 05-12-2007 10:02 PM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.