power question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2007, 04:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 75
Default power question

hey guys, sorry for all the questions but i need to ask another. so what kind of power will i need to power a HIS x1950xtx along with a e6300, 2gb of ddr2 and asus p5b, would a standard antec 450w do the job or would i need something more heavy, anyway thanks for all the advice and i hope to hear from you soon
__________________

Fozzy is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 06:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

looks like it will calculate it yourself
http://www.extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 11:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 20
Default

I think the antec will do it...
heck, my buddy at work runs a freakin 8800GTX off of a
480W PSU. (good thing he's running a BFG)
check
http://www.jonnyguru.com
for PSU reviews and stuff like that.
but 450 should do ok...unless I am missing something
painfully obvious.

Mac
Macntech is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 12:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

yeah you should be fine.
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 12:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Yea an Antec 450 should be plenty as an 8800GTX can run on a FPS 400w, it has been tested.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 12:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sora
Yea an Antec 450 should be plenty as an 8800GTX can run on a FPS 400w, it has been tested.
If you referring to tris thread, the Power supply they used to get said measurement was NOT a forton 400 Watt. But it was a TT toughPower. So until they test that SAME Setup on a 400 Watt fortron I am not convinced. I would reccomend at Least a 450 Watt fortron for similar builds.

Besides, you always want some room for expansion.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 12:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

No doubt will you want some room for expansion but no I'm not refering to any thread I say on here, someone on a different site used a standard 400w FPS with an E6600 and it was stable. There wasn't much room left for anything else but it's still possible. Yea though it should work but you won't have much room at all, after you get it I'd save about 80 bucks or so and look for a nice 550 watt or something for later.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 01:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Im still Angry that the testers who wrote that article didn't try that rig Under load with a 400 Watt fortron after the first power test.

...... It would have been interesting to see rail and power consumption data for given power supply.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 01:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Yea should have tested a few others, especially the 400w Fortron since that's one of my standard PSU recommendations for medium power builds, that or the 450w model.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 10:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 52
Default

i say get a 550 or 600 watt but nothing more. 400 watts is border, not good on border!
__________________

antialias1337 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.