power problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2008, 05:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Default power problem

sometimes when i turn on the computer it will turn on for half a second, turn off, and then turn back on, ive checked all the power connections, and i have a 750W PSU. once the computer is on it stays on but it is starting up that is beginning to worry me.

any ideas on the cuase of this problem?
__________________

xbox122501 is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 05:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: power problem

What is the brand of the PSU?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 05:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: power problem

Might be resetting itself. Is it a Gigabyte motherboard?
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 05:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: power problem

Ultra x2 X-Connect 750W PSU, ASUS maximus extreme motherboard
xbox122501 is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 05:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: power problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by xbox122501 View Post
Ultra x2 X-Connect 750W PSU
Theres your problem...
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 05:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: power problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
Theres your problem...
Sadly yes. I'm one of them
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 05:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: power problem

Someone didn't read the PSU guide!
__________________


Maybe I'm a Lion...
Grievearz is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 12:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: power problem

okay that does not help me guys
xbox122501 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 01:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: power problem

We need exactly what you are running. Mainly your Mobo, CPU, GPU and if you have them overclocked. It could be you're stressing one of your rails, could be a bum PSU, could be herpes. Who knows?
__________________


Maybe I'm a Lion...
Grievearz is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 02:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: power problem

Intel Q6600 2.4 stock running at 3.0, DDR3 1600 running at 1066,MSI 8800GT OC, Nothing is running hot. i can play crysis with average frames of 50 to 60 on high so i know something is right my CPU never gets hotter then 35C on load and the MSI card never gets higher then 58C
__________________

xbox122501 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
Help with my PSU! weezerguy187 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 01-27-2008 04:58 PM
Power Supply Time! Eaglez New Systems | Building and Buying 15 01-05-2008 03:39 PM
8800 gts ,640mb power requirement problem kurtowns Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 16 08-08-2007 03:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.