Power to graphics card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2007, 10:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 26
Default Power to graphics card

Ok so I have everything on the board and now have a mess of power cables to hook up. I have
SAPPHIRE 100186L Radeon X1950XT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 VIVO HDCP Video Card - Retail and the directions on the package show a diagram connecting the card to the power supply and then to the hard drive. I have

CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 520W Power Supply - Retail

And don't have any cords that look like they will do this. Do I just hook the graphics card to the psu and then use something else to connect to the hard drive? So confusing. Both cords I have for the psu to graphics card have a 6-pin PCI express connection. But on one end they have this 2 hole connection do I need that? All the help is appreciated.
__________________

Bankfishin is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 10:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Power to graphics card

Alright, so you just hooked up your PSU. Do you see the 6pin to 4pin Molex connector? Well, you connect that 6pin side to your VGA and the 4pin Molex connector to one of your 4pin Molex connector on your PSU.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 10:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 26
Default Re: Power to graphics card

Ok I did that. I was just wondering about the diagram that came with the graphics card. It shows another connection being made to a 4 pin male connection on the hard drive. Is this just extra?
Bankfishin is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 10:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Power to graphics card

That's if you're using an Ultra-ATA HDD. Then it'll require an IDE cable along with that 4pin Molex connector. If you have a S-ATA HDD, then you connect your S-ATA data cable to your S-ATA slot and you use the S-ATA power connector on the PSU to connect it to your HDD.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 11:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 26
Default Re: Power to graphics card

Thanks for the help. All hooked up and running smoothly.
Bankfishin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Won't go onto Windows Logon or Accounts through graphics card, but will on shared gfx Linked Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-28-2007 09:04 PM
Video Card Power Feeback? Lord Zeon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-27-2007 07:45 PM
Installed new graphics card, now pc won't turn on... capa2000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-02-2007 06:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.