with this power a 4890 - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2009, 09:36 AM   #31 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: with this power a 4890

I would also stick with the xfx, i wouldn't think you would see too much of an increase with software voltage increase anyway. Your overclocks are going to be limited.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 12:40 PM   #32 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: with this power a 4890

Also xfx warrentees overclocking... So you can push the crap out of it, and still be covered.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 09:34 PM   #33 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: with this power a 4890

@baron: i've heard the general limits on stock volts end around 925ish. with a little voltage tweaking many have been getting 1000+
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 08-01-2009, 03:19 AM   #34 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: with this power a 4890

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baez View Post
Mulitple rails spread power evenly purely for safety reasons.
There's nothing about multi-rail PSU's that make them safer. That's just marketing. If anything, they're less safe, because the rails get strained more easily.
They make multi rail PSU's because it's cheaper to do with lower quality components per rail.
Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
the power supplies from corsair are just made by seasonic and probably use cheaper components then their seasonic lineup
No they definitely do not use cheaper components.
Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
those power supplies are not really that great, a lot of people have trouble with them.
Nobody I know has any troubles with Corsair PSU's at all.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
Ati Radeon HD 4890 and Radeon HD 4890 X2: Rumors from the Cebit thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 2 03-10-2009 06:04 PM
Computer won't power up at all. Kaliaila Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-15-2009 06:46 PM
Power Supplies page006 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 05-22-2008 07:14 PM
Help with my PSU! weezerguy187 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 01-27-2008 04:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.