PoWeR - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2006, 01:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Lightbulb PoWeR

Well i have my eVGA 7900GT KO sitting in my lap and i want to install it but i still have my dell 305watt psu. (i had to pay for my license no money for psu) i measured how much power i'm using now and i currently am using 222watts, not including my integrated radeon card.

so should i install it and see if it will work? could i mess up my psu and/or mobo?

its very hard for me not to install this beast.
__________________

__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 02:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

no ill tell you what you need right now

your going to want a 500+ watt enermax or antec
probably higher then 500

power supply keeps your whole system in check
so you need to invest in one
i threw down 200 on mine and i wont have to replace
when i get another video card
__________________

__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 02:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default

well considering i will have no income for 6 months i need to find a way to make this work..

maybe i could unplug my cd rom drive and just play steam.. lol
__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 02:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Or borrow $50 and pick up a Fortron 450 watt psu.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 02:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103464

cheap
cheap
cheap
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 02:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

or throw down $50 and get a Fortron, its a GREAT brand. dude do not put ur card in, you will regret, well u might regret it. and NO NO NO, YOU DONT NEED 500+ WATT PSU TO RUN A FREAKING GT!!!! the GTX itself just needs 450watt. wtf do u need 550 watt for a gt?
john3 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 03:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

john....its not about just the video card that needs power

you cant just think about what you need in the NOW

people overclock. people upgrade. games demand more and more from the hardware and drive the hardware to the limits

the reason i suggest higher watt psu's is to protect your system from that because when i used to go with cheap powersupplies in peoples systems i would get complaints later about system failures and stuff

power supplies arent expensive and im trying to get the point across that spending a little more then 100 now will be worth it later
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 03:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tehdigit
john....its not about just the video card that needs power
When a manufacturer puts out system requirements, it also inputs the power the other parts need.

Quote:
people overclock. people upgrade. games demand more and more from the hardware and drive the hardware to the limits
When people overclock, they would only need more power when they raise voltage, which goes up by increments of .01v, any PSU that can handle a top of the line video card, can handle that.

Quote:
power supplies arent expensive and im trying to get the point across that spending a little more then 100 now will be worth it later
Some of the best PSUs people buy are less than $100. Antec, Enermax, Fortron, OCZ.

Quote:
the reason i suggest higher watt psu's is to protect your system from that because when i used to go with cheap powersupplies in peoples systems i would get complaints later about system failures and stuff
Your fault that you didnt use those handy wattage calculators that tell you what you need. or you didnt read reviews on the PSUs u purchased.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 03:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

rofl im not going to argue with you because you obviously dont see 1 point im trying to get across

alright guys do what you want. sure if your hardware says 450 will power your system it will but i go safe and buy something that will work for my system for a long time.

also when your buying a psu look at the rate efficiency if its above 70 you should be alright but 80+ is really good
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 03:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

the one thing u need 2 do when purchasing a PSU.

CALCULATE HOW MUCH POWER YOU WILL NEED!
http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculator.jsp

THen look for a Reliable, well known PSU that has good (great) reviews. and make sure that the amount of cords it has fits ur peripheral needs. e.g. fans, cathode lights. and of course the other cords, SATA, IDE, etc.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.