Post but no BOOT!?!? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2006, 01:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default Post but no BOOT!?!?

This is the computer:

Opteron 180
Big Typhoon
g.skill extreme DDR500
forton source 600w
dfi lanparty ut ultra-d
2 wd 250gb 16mb cache sata
X-FI extreme music

We searched the forums and cleared CMOS. We individually tested all the hardware. We hear a little beep when we turn it on so we pass POST but we have no BOOT. Is this a power supply problem?

All suggestions are greatly appreciated.

EDIT: We did not plug in Com1 or micro sw, which I'm guessing means micros switch. We didn't know where it went and Com1 cannot be found. Yeah, it's our first time putting together a computer.

jill!an is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 02:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3

Ok. We just plugged in a Thermaltake 400w. It only has 20 pins but it managed to get the CPU and Ram up. Do you think this could power this system for a few days?

EDIT: WE PLUGGED IN THE FSP 600W AND IT WORKS ALL OF A SUDDEN...Anyway, I'll post if we encounter any more problems.

jill!an is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 06:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11

... you put a 20 pin psu in a 24 pin slot?...
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 06:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 76

Like trying to power an Mac 18 wheeler with a Toyota 4 cylinder.
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR Expert
AMD Opteron 185
OCZ Platinum 2GB(2 X 1GB) 3 3 2 8
OCZ Powerstream 600 Watt
LiteOn DVD Burner 16X w/Lightscribe
2-74GB Raptors (RAID)
WD 150GB Raptor
Mitsumi 1.44 Floppy
ATI TV Wonder Elite
Thermaltake Tai-Chi W/Built-in H2O (GPU & Chipset)
CoolIT Systems Freezone CPU Cooler
caveman4810 is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 07:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3

Yeah haha. It actually worked too. The Fortron is up and running, somehow.
jill!an is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.