Possible To Watercool RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2008, 07:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default Possible To Watercool RAM?

I have four sticks of Crucial Ballistix Tracers right now, and I find they run exceedingly hot (hot enough to burn me if I try to touch them) and they aren't even overclocked. Would it be possible (in the future when I build my new rig and watercool the rest of the parts) to watercool the RAM aswell, to keep the temps down, or are they supposed to run hot?
__________________

__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 07:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Possible To Watercool RAM?

yea, ive seen ram waterbag heatsinks
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 08:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Possible To Watercool RAM?

ya u can, but most say there is no need.... your better off just getting good airflow through your case :/
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 08:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Possible To Watercool RAM?

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMXAF1 Fans - Memory & Chipset Cooling

try something like that maybe? I dunno if that is strictly for dominator RAM or not, but it seems like it'd work with any. If not try to find one that will work with it
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 08:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Possible To Watercool RAM?

what kind of voltage on them?
and what kind of airflow in your case?
i dont think they should be hot enough to burn you.
here's a good rule of thumb:
if it's inside your case and it burns you, it's too hot.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 08:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Possible To Watercool RAM?

What if you have delicate skin?

Ya even in a cheap 2 buck case with like 1 intake and outtake fan you shouldn't have ram that is hot to the skin... if you haven't been messing around in bios. Btw why did u touch the ram sticks?
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 08:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Possible To Watercool RAM?

Do you live in a desert? Perhaps in a volcano? It could be environmental.
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 10:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default Re: Possible To Watercool RAM?

Think igloo. And polar bears.

Ambient temp in here is around 23°, cpu idles at 43/45, full load around 48/49. I touched the RAM because I was testing it (switching between slots 1 & 3 and 2 & 4 to rule out bad RAM). It was bloody hot, maybe not hot enough to burn me, but hot. Not overclocked at all, running at the stock 800MHz / 1.8v. Airflow I would say is decent, not amazing. 1x120mm in the front pushing air past 4 hard drives, a 120mm sucking air out and a 120mm in the psu.

And I was hoping for watercooling over fans because, since this is going to be in my living room, I dont want a million fans making it too loud
__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 12:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ShaolinDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 457
Default Re: Possible To Watercool RAM?

quite a warm cpu you got there, yet load looks ok. i wouldnt imagine its to do with leds as they dont create much heat at all. My normal ballistix are luke warm to the touch and my airflow is nothing amazing.

yeh maybe a small fan something like this Antec SpotCool System Cooler find that sweet spot. your circulation might be one cause, not enough airflow around the ram area. But It does sounds iffy man they shouldnt really be that hot. Maybe you can find some related threads on crucial forum. At the very worst id get a small fan
__________________
Gaming Rig
Intel Core 2 E6600 @ 3Ghz -Upgrade- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro 25C/35C
Asus P5N-D Nforce 750i 1333FSB
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz -Upgrade- Crucial Ballistix Tracer RED 2x2GB 800Mhz
2x SataII, 2x IDE Total = 1.1Tb
EVGA 8800GTS 512mb 'Crysis Edition' @ 750/1900/2000
Onboard Realtek 8.1 Sound Jazzy!
Hiper Type-R 580w -Upgrade- Gigabyte ODIN GT 800W
Modded iCute -Upgrade- Antec 900
19" Iiyama CRT -NEXT Upgrade!- Samsung SM-T260HD 26" w/ Digital TV Tuner / Samsung SM-T240 24"

3DMark06 Score- 13k :)
ShaolinDreams is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 12:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Possible To Watercool RAM?

Water cooling memory is absolutely pointless.

Grab that corsair fan thingy and worst case hook it up to a fan controller. Just a little constant airflow over the memory will do wonders. And it'll cost you about 40 bucks less than get a memory water block. Not to mention all the other bits and pieces you'd need to buy.
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Is faster RAM really worth the extra cash ? Osiris System Upgrades 1 04-16-2008 05:08 PM
Kingston RAM wafflehammer New Systems | Building and Buying 33 03-26-2008 01:31 AM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 PM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.