Possible upgrades coming - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2009, 04:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Possible upgrades coming

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Asus M2N-e is AM2/AM2+ compatible....
I do not believe so, at least the specs for the board I saw it was not. I could very well be wrong though. It's starting to be an olderish board, and I don't think it originally was made for AM2+. It might be that it's backwards compatible via a BIOS flash. Idk I need to figure that out. Anybody know anything about that case I posted though?

- AMD Live!™ Ready
- Support AMD Socket AM2 CPU
- NVIDIA nForce 500 SLI Technology
- Dual channel DDR2 800
- IEEE 1394a
- ASUS Q-Connector


Those are the specs I pulled up on ASUS website.
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 07:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Possible upgrades coming

Thresh there are a lot of mother boards that don't claim to be AM2+. But AM2+ chips still drop right in and chug away.

Check out the list of CPU's supported instead.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 07:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Possible upgrades coming

All i had to do was a bios update to run the 5000+ BE in my old AM2 board, the regular m2n-e.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 09:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Possible upgrades coming

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
All i had to do was a bios update to run the 5000+ BE in my old AM2 board, the regular m2n-e.
Ahh great! you're the man I need to talk to, how do I do a bios update, and which one do I choose. I'd greatly appreciate a response from you since you have experience with the board.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 09:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Possible upgrades coming

Easy... just choose the latest one... most of the boards come with an easy Install firmware...

Or if you have a Floppy Drive/Bootable Jump Drive, you are have the ability to flash the BIOS with the Utility
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 09:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Possible upgrades coming

Bah, thats jargon to me that I don't really understand. I sort of need a step by step lol... Or exactly which one I need. I posted the Asus website in this thread, if I was just told which one to install or w/e.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 09:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Possible upgrades coming

A list of compatible CPUs for your board, according to ASUS:
ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-

Grrr... I hate their site. you will have to go through the drop-downs to get the info.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 10:09 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Possible upgrades coming

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-

that's the page I got to. I don't see the 7750 anywhere on there.

edit: bah i guess when u copy the link it makes u start over. well i went to search cpu using motherboard. then
socket am2/am3/am2+
then m2n-e sli
pressed okay, and no 7750 be was in the list.


Edit: I searched by cpu which was amd athlon x2, then athlon x2 7750 + for type, and then it came up with a list. the m2n-e is supported, the m2n-sli is supported, however the m2n-e sli is not listed. i might be SOL.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 10:55 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Possible upgrades coming

These are all the chips your board will support:

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-

So yeah sol.

Plus the chipset is old anyways and you wouldn't get as much performance out of the chip.

Just select your board and it shows all the cpu's.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 11:10 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Possible upgrades coming

Gah, that's frustrating. the m2n-e and the m2n-sli support it, but the m2n-e sli doesn't. odd.

All right between these,

45w... 2.6ghz is more watts better?? sort of confused there..
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 5050e Brisbane 2.6GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 45W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

65w 2.8ghz
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 Brisbane 2.8GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops'

black edition at 2.8ghz
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 Brisbane 2.8GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core black edition Processor - Processors - Desktops

Will I see much of an increase from a 2.1ghz OC'ed to 2.3ghz?
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prison Break Coming To An End At Season 4 Harper Off Topic Discussion 48 05-25-2009 08:09 PM
Vista SP2 Public Release Candidate Coming Soon Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 02-01-2009 06:03 PM
prices of intel quad cores coming down? Asianyeti New Systems | Building and Buying 11 08-19-2008 11:59 PM
Russian Malware Assault Coming? Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 1 08-05-2007 07:51 PM
Sony quietly upgrades PSP processor Harper Sony Playstation 0 06-26-2007 08:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.