Possible upgrade option - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2008, 01:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Possible upgrade option

So I was thinking about trying to sort of "future proof" my computer. All I'd want to get is a new cpu and motherboard. About how much would a pretty good board and cpu cost, I don't need the best of the best. I'd say not a lot more than 300 dollars or so would be spending limit. Also, how much work do I have to do to set that up,since I still keep the same harddrive?
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 01:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Possible upgrade option

Newegg.com - ASUS P5Q LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
130

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
170

There's your 300, you can use everything from your old setup....

Otherwise you can wait for Core i7 but I wouldn't bother as I don't think it will be done well on a budget...

if you want to spend some more the P5Q Pro is better, P5Q-E is even better with much better cooling...but they will all get the E8400 to 4ghz providing the CPU is capable of it (99% chance it is).
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 01:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Possible upgrade option

How about an e7200/e5200? same multiplier, but less cache, and he can get a better board like the higher end P5Q series or the I45...

but then again.. he also wants his nVidia cards so he may need a 750i FTW or something if he plans on SLi
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 02:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Possible upgrade option

To stop the fanboy, crap (though I am an nvidia fanboy) I am willing to try out ATI. I figure I have many years in my life to build more computer with nvidia, I wouldn't be 100% opposed to building an ATI machine. I have pretty good knowlege of parts, but what exactly is cache? And what does it mean? And are you saying I can OC that 4.0 ghz without an aftermarket cooler?

Great savings w/ ASUS motherboard combo, ends 9/30

So will I save any money by getting that mobo too?

And, is the 3.0ghz necessary, or could I save some money and get say 2.8? Last, is core 2 duo plenty, or should I look at getting one of the quad cores?


Edit: just realized that board only had one PCI-E slot. I'd really like two for future proof of crossfire or SLI.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 03:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Possible upgrade option

No that's not what it means, cache is the thing it says in MB next to the CPU name, like 3mb or 6mb (e7200 or e8400's respective cache)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 05:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Possible upgrade option

Ha well I knew that much, where it was at in the specs, but idk what you mean by saying no that's now what it means, cuz i didnt make a guess as to what it meant lol. What i don't know is what cache does i guess.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 09:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Possible upgrade option

CPU cache - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

If your looking to overclock go for a E5200/E7200, if not look at the E8400 (though you can still get the E8400 and overclock).
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 08:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Possible upgrade option

Yeah I want to overclock, and I want a motherboard that supports two pci-e cards in either crossfire or sli
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 09-15-2008, 02:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Possible upgrade option

Newegg.com - ASUS P5Q-E LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 09-15-2008, 03:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Possible upgrade option

why two cards.

lame
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Best upgrade option for $200 regeisle New Systems | Building and Buying 13 08-10-2007 01:25 PM
Resolution Problems in Ubuntu aetherh4cker Linux and Open Source 7 08-07-2007 07:25 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
Slight annoyance with xgl Skuzzle Linux and Open Source 10 04-08-2007 10:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.