Possible Small Server Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2007, 09:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default Possible Small Server Build

I'm trying to build a small server. This server would have about 3 primary functions:

1) File storage
2) Transformation of MP4s backed up into WMVs or AVIs (if it works...)
3) Transferring these files to my Creative ZVM or my PC.

The problem is, I've heard that a server doesn't need a whole lot of CPU power, but since I'm going to be transforming these files from MP4s, I think I might need a lot of it. True or no? Also, this server will not be on the network, but rather hooked up through a crossover cable to my PC. Is a good CPU needed for file transferring?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 10:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

a lot of people just use a 900mhz cpu for a server. But If you are going to to be doing the mp4's get like a amd 3700 or somethin. it is only like $90 and would suit that well.

How much money are you going to spend on it?
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 11:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

a 3700+ you think will work? I was thinking I was going to need like a dual core AMD @ at least 2.0 GHz, so that's good I guess

Also, I'm hoping I can just install about 2 programs, keeping the necessary resources from those annoying background tasks.


OH sorry, one more thing...How much memory will I need for this??
__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 11:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Since it's just a server mainly for storage, you don't need that much cpu power at all. If you're going to barely be using the computer, you dont need to get a powerful cpu which can get things done quicker because you can just start it up and leave it alone. Also, you don't need a fast cpu for file transfers, that's pretty much all hard drive based. You don't need that much ram for this either especially since you wont be using many programs.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 12:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

ya you could built a fast home server for like $500
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 12:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

That's awesome.

I've already got most of the stuff - just need a PSU, CPU, mobo, and some ram.
__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 12:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by chevytrucknut
That's awesome.

I've already got most of the stuff - just need a PSU, CPU, mobo, and some ram.
Lol that's like half of the stuff you need....so I assume you just have harddrives, a case + peripherals?
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 12:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

haha, yea you caught me

I guess I have half of the "stuff" but not half of the price lol
__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 12:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

A cheap athlon 64 like a 3000+ or 3200+ should work no problem is this case,Heck even a decent celeron would do the trick
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 01:51 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

Alright guys, here's what I've put together. Let me know if you see anything that needs changing:

Motherboard/CPU combo - http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16813138264
and
http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16819103535

PSU -
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182006

Memory - http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...ctCode=80098-6

And I'll be running Windows XP x64. Why? Because I have a copy I bought a year ago and haven't used it And why not
__________________

__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.