possible new computer - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2008, 02:45 PM   #31 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: possible new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks

that one, that 7 is for Intel and that comes with an MX-2 thermal pad so you don't need thermal paste
just to be clear, this heatsink Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks doesn't need any thermal paste.
__________________

35g700 is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 03:23 PM   #32 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: possible new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by 35g700 View Post
just to be clear, this heatsink Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks doesn't need any thermal paste.
yes, no thermal paste needed

sorry about the confusion, I thought you decided on Phenom... my bad
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 03:45 PM   #33 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: possible new computer

no problem, and thanks for all the help

when you said the heatsink is crappy where you talking about the one on the Phenom, or the on the Q6600?
35g700 is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 07:49 PM   #34 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: possible new computer

Both, stock coolers blow hard on Dual cores and its even worse on Quad-Cores

thats why a Arctic Freezer Pro 7/64 atleast is a good investment
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 03:46 PM   #35 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: possible new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
If you are willing to spend more on the motherboard the evga 750i ftw is a great board.

Newegg.com - EVGA 123-YW-E175-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 750i FTW SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
I found a really good deal on a case and power supply (only lasts till April 30) but the power supply doesn't have an 8 pin connector. What are the main benefits of the evga 750i ftw vs. ASUS P5N-D LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 750i SLI ATX?

Here is a link the the case with the power supply Newegg.com - RAIDMAX Smilodon Extreme ATX-612WEBP Black SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 500W Power Supply - Computer Cases
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 05:02 PM   #36 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: possible new computer

the eVGA 750i FTW, is based on the 780i chipset, except the 750i FTW doesn't have Tri-SLI support (which is overrated anyways)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 05:15 PM   #37 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: possible new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
the eVGA 750i FTW, is based on the 780i chipset, except the 750i FTW doesn't have Tri-SLI support (which is overrated anyways)
Is it worth it to go with the eVGA 750i FTW worth the extra $50 instead of the ASUS P5N-D LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 750i SLI ATX?
35g700 is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 07:11 PM   #38 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: possible new computer

Definitely
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 08:22 PM   #39 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: possible new computer

I think this is the psu that comes with that case.

Newegg.com - RAIDMAX RX-500S ATX12V 500W Power Supply 100 - 120V/ 200 - 240V cUL, TUV, CE, CB, FCC - Power Supplies

I would not use that power supply because it is on the list of brands to avoid in the Updated Power supply guide You would be much better of with a Corsair 550vx or 520hx.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 09:45 PM   #40 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: possible new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
I think this is the psu that comes with that case.

Newegg.com - RAIDMAX RX-500S ATX12V 500W Power Supply 100 - 120V/ 200 - 240V cUL, TUV, CE, CB, FCC - Power Supplies

I would not use that power supply because it is on the list of brands to avoid in the Updated Power supply guide You would be much better of with a Corsair 550vx or 520hx.
nice eye, I didn't even notice the part about the case when I posted my response, maybe he edited his post...

but w.e you're right, Raidmax is both an avoid brand, and its integrated, thats double trouble
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer won't Load narmerguy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-08-2008 08:19 AM
Please help, computer won't turn on PcMe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 01-06-2008 08:28 PM
My computer Won't start up SpRi7e Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-29-2007 01:49 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.