Possible to build 2 process i7? (8 physical cores) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 12-04-2009, 12:38 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar

Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Possible to build 2 process i7? (8 physical cores)

theheresy: What about case, power supply, harddrives, optical drives, RAM? Other parts?

Do you already have these or do you need to increase budget to include them?

Old 12-04-2009, 12:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Guys thanks for the help so far..in terms of computer building I'm a noob can you guys take this a bit further in explaining to me some of the following things:

1. what is the difference between i7, xenon, and nehalem, I thought that they were all basically the same thing?
2. what would be cheapest to build a dual CPU (i.e. 2quad core, 8core total), would it be two i7's or two xenons or what?

Old 12-04-2009, 12:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
theheresy: What about case, power supply, harddrives, optical drives, RAM? Other parts?

Do you already have these or do you need to increase budget to include them?
Yes, I need a case, power supply, dvd drive and ram so yes the budget will go up due to that, hard drive I possibly will have for it..it's just that those prices are somewhat negligible, everything you listed minus the ram I'm assuming can be 100-200$ total, then another few hundred for a lot of ram so I'm supposing 1500$ or so at the least total...what do you guys think?
Old 12-04-2009, 01:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie

Quote:
Originally Posted by theheresy View Post
1. what is the difference between i7, xenon, and nehalem, I thought that they were all basically the same thing?
Nehalem is the chip architecture.
Both i7 and the newer Xeon ie 3500 and 5500 series are based upon the Nehalem architecture.