Possible to build 2 process i7? (8 physical cores) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2009, 11:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Default Possible to build 2 process i7? (8 physical cores)

Hi guys..I'm new to all this tech stuff...is there an existing motherboard that can socket two i7 860's (or any other i7's for that matter) to make an 8core PC machine equivalent to a macpro 8core nehalem, etc?

How would I go about building such a bare bones system?

Thanks...
__________________

theheresy is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 11:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Possible to build 2 process i7? (8 physical cores)

Yes you can. The relevant question is what would you need this for?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 11:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: Possible to build 2 process i7? (8 physical cores)

I do music production/film composition where the NORM is for numerous quadcore i7's slaved to a master 8core..so believe me I need the power/speed if that's what you're questioning, the question is how to do this?
theheresy is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 11:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Possible to build 2 process i7? (8 physical cores)

The real question is your budget..
Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 12:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Possible to build 2 process i7? (8 physical cores)

board like this:
Newegg.com - ASUS Z8NA-D6 (ASMB4-IKVM) Dual LGA 1366 Intel 5500 ATX Dual Intel Xeon 5500 Series Server Motherboard - Server Motherboards

2 of these:
Newegg.com - Intel Xeon X5550 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 95W Quad-Core Server Processor - Processors - Servers

or take a peek at your options for different boards. I would talk to the manufacturers of the software you use to ask their recommendations for a setup.

Newegg.com - Server Motherboards,Dual LGA 1366,dual zeon motherboard
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 12:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: Possible to build 2 process i7? (8 physical cores)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
The real question is your budget..

Budget is as cheap as possible. Preferably 1000 or lower for pure bare bones (no OS, stock, cheap graphics card as I don't need any graphics at all) etc...is it possible to do this for 1000 or how about 1500 or a little less?

Can I take the motherboard hefemeister just posted and stick two i7 860's on there? That should be roughly what 800-900 for just the mobo and the chips...is this doable guys?
theheresy is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 12:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Possible to build 2 process i7? (8 physical cores)

Theres cheaper xeon chips, but i think you'd really want to stick with a xeon line as they are more of the brute force type chip, compared to the i7s

Newegg.com - Intel/Processors - Servers
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 12:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default Re: Possible to build 2 process i7? (8 physical cores)

Quote:
Originally Posted by theheresy View Post
Can I take the motherboard hefemeister just posted and stick two i7 860's on there?
From the mobo specification page.
Quote:
Supported CPU
CPU Socket Type: Dual LGA 1366
CPU Type: Quad-Core Intel Xeon X5500 Series (95W)
Quad-Core Intel Xeon E5500 Series (80W)
Quad-Core Intel Xeon L5500 Series (60W/38W)
So no, core-i7 860 wont work.
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 12:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Possible to build 2 process i7? (8 physical cores)

The mobo hefe posted will not take i7 860s the i7 8** series are LGA1156 socket, while i7 9** series are LGA1366 socket. The one hefe posted is the latter.

And yes, this is doable. Shouldn't cost more than... 1200-1300?
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 12:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Possible to build 2 process i7? (8 physical cores)

Calling kmote. Server builder man.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use Process Monitor To Optimize The Windows Boot Process Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 1 10-09-2009 01:35 PM
Microsoft to deliver invitation-only tech preview build of Office 2010 KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 7 07-15-2009 08:57 AM
New build help encity5 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-26-2008 10:11 PM
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
Is AMDís 65nm SOI process broken? Kharn Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 08-21-2007 01:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.