Is This Possible?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RenderGuy

Beta member
Hello all

Thank you for taking the time to help out a Noob, or even just reading this long post. I am making a fair amount of money this summer and am looking to build a powerful desktop computer for my work/school and also hobbies (I would like to start getting into animation). I was hoping to get advice/recommendations on the best system for my needs but also advice on the setup I've been thinking about (if it's possible, counter-productive, etc.) My macbook pro simply is not cutting it anymore :p I am looking to spend $3000 but am flexible.

I am also wondering if it is best to go with all server/workstation equipment, or if it is possible or even desirable to mix.

I'm an architecture student and I use the following programs:
AutoCad
SketchUp
Revit
Cinema 4d
3ds Max
Artlantis Render
Maxwell Render
Vray
Adobe Suite

I would like to begin experimenting with Maya as well but I have heard that certain equipment is very incompatible with Maya, eg. the workstation graphics card I am thinking about. Also, if you have any recommendations for great programs to try out that is appreciated as well :)

So here is roughly what I am considering:
CPU
I wanted two CPUs, the i7-2600K but discovered this is not possible so I am leaning towards the i7-960 Bloomfield
- Will it being 45 nm make that much of a difference, does this create compatibility issues with other equipment?
- Would two of these i7-960 be significantly more superior to say one i7-970 Gulftown or one of the extreme editions?
- I read that there is a rumor about intel making a motherboard to support two i7-2600Ks, should I wait a bit?

MEMORY
24GB or 32 GB using 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 either Crucial or G.Skill

WORKSTATION VIDEO CARD
ATI 100-505604 FirePro V7800 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x 16 CrossFire Supported Workstation Video Card

MAIN DRIVE
Crucial RealSSD C300 CTFDDAC128MAG-1G1 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal SSD