Pointless downgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2008, 09:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 50
Default Pointless downgrade?

Wondering if I would be inadvertently downgrading myself if I bought a bare bones from newegg put my 2gigs of ram, 8600gt and 2.8 dual core into it to replace a about 3 year old Dell system. I figure the only real difference in it would be the Mobo and power supply. I don't really know much about Mobo's or how to compare then aside from the simple things like what type of processor and ram they support. Only reasons I'm considering this is because the case I have now has bad airflow and as you may know Dell mounts all the power supply wires to the case and has pointless little extras in the case, making it hard for further upgrades. Also the power supply is small (350w) witch is forcing me to have my two CD drives disconnected so my TV tuner card gets enough power.
__________________

eggcream is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 09:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Pointless downgrade?

I would buy a decent cheap psu
what 2.8 dual core do you have?
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 09:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 50
Default Re: Pointless downgrade?

its an Intel Pentium D 2.8GHz dual core.
eggcream is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 09:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Pointless downgrade?

how much are you willing to spend in upgrades? if u give us a bit of a budget im sure we can come up wit a good upgrade line up for you. and if ud liek to stick to intel or amd.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 09:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 50
Default Re: Pointless downgrade?

I'd say my budget is about $200 I know thats not much to work with but I've seen bare bones that will support everything I'm trying to put into it for under that but not sure if that's going to downgrade me, with is why I'm posting
eggcream is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 10:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Pointless downgrade?

thats actuall ya really low budget and ya you probably would be down grading abit, try to save about 400$ and you can get a great upgrade.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 08:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Pointless downgrade?

Actually, DJ's setup is a good one, considering you will be re-using your parts. An upgrade is just that, an upgrade. If you were building new it would be different.

Plus, you could later upgrade to a C2D later on, as that mobo can handle up through a quad.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 08:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 50
Default Re: Pointless downgrade?

Sorry if this sounds noobish, C2D?
eggcream is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 10:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Pointless downgrade?

Intel Core 2 Duo.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP Pavillion dv9500 VISTA DOWNGRADE HELP PLEASE JayNich Microsoft Windows and Software 5 12-31-2007 07:44 PM
Powerpoint Presentations, well, Pointless. Oreo Off Topic Discussion 6 04-05-2007 09:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.