pn1 and pn2 cables????help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2005, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to oinkypig Send a message via Yahoo to oinkypig
Default pn1 and pn2 cables????help

hey i got the jpac computer 411(http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811217015) computer case and a radeon x850 pro 256mb, creative extreme music sound card, and a gig of ram. the case came with some pn1 and pn2 cables for the leds and the power buttons and all. i have no idea on how to install these. btw i swithced mmy dell 4600 mobo into the jpac 411 case, but i just cant figure out where they go!!!!please help me
__________________

oinkypig is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 03:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Well, did you take note to where the front panel power/reset wires of the Dell 4600 case connected to? That's were you'd attach the new cases wires too.

But, from what I remember, the 4600 has a "Dell Specific" cable and connecter coming from the front panel to the motherboard. I'm not sure even if you did find the right place that the connecters on the new case would even be compatible with the motherboard.

When using parts from a dell to rebuild a new system it normally means buying a new "motherboard, case, power supply and operating system." Sometimes new ram.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 08:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to oinkypig Send a message via Yahoo to oinkypig
Default

yes i did but is there a certain arrangement to how the wires are put on or do i just stick them on till i get them right
oinkypig is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 09:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by oinkypig
yes i did but is there a certain arrangement to how the wires are put on or do i just stick them on till i get them right
Well, normally when you buy an after market motherboard, there will be documentation that will show you the layout of the front panel connecters on the motherboard. But, since it's a dell motherboard, there probably won't be any documentation.

Here I found this:


What does the connecter look like coming from the front panel of the Dell 4600 CASE. Does it look like the connecters on you're new case?
I bet it doesn't. That's because Dell uses proprietary designs in almost every aspect of their systems. Which makes it really hard to alter a dell at all.

You could try connecting various connectors to various pins. But if what I said above is true. It could be impossible.

It doesn't look good seeing as that layout says, "Front Panel I/O Connector" Hence 1 connector. You're case I can almost say 99.9% has more then 1. Reset, Power LED, HDD LED, audio... etc..
HAVOC is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 09:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to oinkypig Send a message via Yahoo to oinkypig
Default

is there any way humanly possible i could make it work?
oinkypig is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 10:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to oinkypig Send a message via Yahoo to oinkypig
Default

the front panel i/o connector is the plug u put the usb and sound device cable in located on the front bottom of the computer. the contrl panel is where you place the power and reset button cables
oinkypig is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 02:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Oh ok. But, it still looks to be like a specific connector.

You could try it. The worst that will happen is it won't work. You won't hurt anything. Just try plugging the new case wires into the control panel pins... Trail and error...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 03:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to oinkypig Send a message via Yahoo to oinkypig
Default

this is going to take sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo long
oh and i was wondering could i take the computer to like officemax and have thm take a look at it and figure it outdo they do that?
oinkypig is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 11:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I don't think you understand what i'm trying to say.

ok. If both the Control Panel & I/O Connectors on the motherboard that connect to the front panel of the Dell 4600 case are special connecters, the the chances of anyone getting that new cases connecters to work are virtually ZERO.

Inside the front panel of that case is probably a small piece of PCB board, or circuitboard that the wires connected to. That is why the connecter is special and not universial. This is one of the things that Dell does to make upgrading impossible.

So basically what i'm saying is you'll need a new motherboard. Then of course you'll needed an operating system to reinstall. The operating syste that came with the Dell will not work.

That's why i said in my original post you'll need a "motherboard, case, power supply and operating system."

Welcome to the world of **** Computers....
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.