Plethora of issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2009, 06:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Plethora of issues

First off is my **** tv I use as a monitor. It's a 26 lcd 720p. ATI won't let me use the 1336x768 resolution which first off really ****es me off. I knew I should have stuck with my good ol' nvidia.

So I was gaming at 1280x1024 which looked the best and I was happy. Then I realized when it was at this, it forced me to have a 30hz refresh rate!!!! That's terrible!!! So i HAVE to put it at 1280x720 which really doesn't look that good for me to have a 60hz refresh rate.

This is problem number 1. My second issue is Empire Total War. I don't know if it's just a buggy game or maybe I have something wrong with my video card or... I'm not sure.

The only other game I've played is Medieval 2 Total War and it ran perfectly. However when i get into a battle with Empire Total War my screen gets all like shaky. Random bars run up and down the screen and **** it's so god **** annoying.

I found a fix, put it on pause and then go to graphics settings. Change one setting, it now has to go back to the loading menu, once it reloads the map all is fine. This is what leads me to believe it is not a video card issue. I installed the 9.4 catalyst drivers. All is fine there.

What could be causing this shaking? I really don't want to have to do that for every battle. If playing online and I go back to the menu it makes the game lag for everyone so I can't do that. I tried putting graphics on lowest, highest, medium all to no avail.

I googled to see if anyone else has this problem, again to no avail. Anybody have any ideas or clues or insight to any of this? Thanks in advance.

/angry gamer

Edit: I found that turning off AA gets rid of my shaking screen problem. No more lines of artifacts. Wow ATI, you've really impressed me. I thought an hd 4850 was supposed to be a very good card, I should have spent the money on something better. I can't even turn the AA on for an RTS....

/angrier gamer

2nd edit: I researched it a bit more and it's due to ATI's yet again shotty drivers. I was under the impression they were fixed :/. This really now pushes me over the edge, nvidia is the way to go, I should have shelled out the little more cash for reliability. Buyers beware! ATI SUCKS. ok ok, I'm being a bit extreme as it plays my other games fine, but still I'm ****ed.


Thresh25 is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 12:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
Nagasama's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Plethora of issues

1st issue
i dont know, thats why i use a monitor and not a TV
2nd issue
try re-installing the game. sometimes, you just have a buggy install. my COD4 locks up on me still on rare occasion, and i have no idea why.
3rd issue
roll back the drivers. i found that the previous generation of ATI drivers worked better than the current 90% of the time.
uninstall CCC, and try the game without it running. sometimes it is a booger. ATIs drivers really aren't bad, but they do have issues form time to time, just like nvidias (yes i had a 4870 1gb and went to a core 216).

"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 05:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Plethora of issues

I found a fix and it's just by turning off all the effects. Game still looks nice so I guess it's whatever. I swear to God though I did not have ONE single problem with my crap 8600 gt, and I don't think i hardly every updated drivers. Though maybe that is why..
Thresh25 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PS3 2.42 Firmware Issues? Osiris Sony Playstation 4 08-04-2008 02:15 PM
Issues issues issues. Vista-64bit. 9600GT's in SLI. 4GB Vista problems. Oy Vey. TheOtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-24-2008 11:59 AM
Memory issues Eternal46845 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 02-12-2008 07:37 AM
Gigafast Router - Connectivity Issues When Running Torrents - Advanced Problem throthedice Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 09-27-2007 09:12 PM
Brand NEW Computer Issues...IDK what to do? roadrunner1659 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-17-2007 08:07 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.