Please rate this!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2010, 04:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Please rate this!!

id give i a 6....kind out dated, but not a ripe off. What i really dont get thought is the hard drives, i would have given it a 6.5 or 7, but the hardrives brought it down.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 04:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Please rate this!!

What case? And did you get any extras for it?


@Luke: What's wrong with the HDDs?
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 04:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Please rate this!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
-.5 medicore board
-.5 old gen of phenom
-.5 9800gtx+
-.5 ddr2
-.5 no ssd
-.5 on psu

7/10
I think you mean NO PSU. Because it's safe to say that if you have a PSU you most likely want it on
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 04:36 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Please rate this!!

Quote:
@Luke: What's wrong with the HDDs?
Quote:
1 500gb hdd 1 160 gb hdd 2 80 gb hdd
why in this day and age would you want a 160gb, and 2 80 gb's? should have just had one 750 gb in it.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 04:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Please rate this!!

Bigger is not always better.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 04:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Please rate this!!

^tehee, lol. Considering that 80gb and 160gb hard drives are basically no longer manufactured, nor new ones are coming out, means that they are relatively dated. Meaning they are slower then a newer drive, so yes, in this case a bigger drive is better, there is no reason to have multiple smaller drives if you have the choice.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 05:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Please rate this!!

The main issue I had with his rig was the Phenom 1 (horrible overclockers). The 9800GTX is not BAD, but the 5770 would have been a better choice in my opinion.

The motherboard and Phenom 1 are the main problem, as they are not upgradable at all without completely replacing the motherboard and processor. Also, the Ram can't be re-used if you plan on doing a proper upgrade.

Still, this rig will chew up basically any game you throw at it, and for $500 I wouldn't expect much better. (unless of course you're talking about a Tech-forums build., you guys are CRAZY about getting some amazing machines for dirt cheap)

Not bad though, once again 6/10
RichM499 is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 05:23 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 49
Default Re: Please rate this!!

those hard drives i took from my computer class. lol and the case is by cyberpower. dont know what kind. I got this computer from a friend. He payed 1100 a year ago. he built another computer 1400 with core i7. I built it for him. And so he sold me this one for 500. and i just played crysis yesterday 1280*720 and all the highest settings a no lag what so ever. lol
animostical is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 05:27 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Please rate this!!

^cause the resolution is not high, if thats the resolution you will be gaming on, then that computer will rape any game you throw at it for quite a while with max settings.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-06-2010, 03:06 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 49
Default Re: Please rate this!!

ok then whats high? lol 1280*1024 is the highest for this monitor. its only a 19" none widescreen.
__________________

animostical is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there any point of increasing a lcd monitor's refresh rate from 60 to 75hz? stainer711 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 05-30-2009 06:33 PM
Changing refresh rate on Vista (BF2 Question) Matth3w Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-17-2008 07:33 PM
Monitor Refresh Rate thesouthazn Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 05-27-2008 06:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.