Please Help With Upgrade - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2007, 12:12 PM   #31 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

If I were I would get 8800GTS 320MB
Newegg.com - EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 12:22 PM   #32 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1
If I were I would get 8800GTS 320MB
So says the resident NVIDIA fanboy.

If you go NVFIDIA, be sure to uninstall the ATI drivers, cechk your hard drive for any folders left behind, and use a registry cleaner to remove any entries for them. I am not kidding... ATI's drivers like to hang around, and they don't play nice with NVIDIA cards (been there, done that).

If you choose to stay with ATI, you're good to go. Just update your drivers and you're off.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 01:06 PM   #33 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

So i have decided to buy :

1x 500 Watt PSU
1x 1GB RAM (And make them 2GB)
1x Ati Radeon X1950 Pro 512MB PCI

---------------------------------------------

What do you guys think?

My Proccesor is an Athlon AMD 64 3200+ running at 2.00Ghz..

There isnt a big chance of a "bottleneck" here is there?

Thanks
AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 01:42 PM   #34 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

If you are getting a PCI-E card the X1950XT would be better than the X1950PRO 512. It is a lot more powerful.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 02:10 PM   #35 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

1. Does the X1950XT come with 512MB?
2. Will my Processor speed support this card to give the best performance?
AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 02:17 PM   #36 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by AntonOle View Post
1. Does the X1950XT come with 512MB?
2. Will my Processor speed support this card to give the best performance?
Yes it does but the 256mb version is what is cheap. Understand that the X1950XT 256MB is still faster than most cards with 512mb. Don't worry about the amount of memory a card has that much since some cards are plenty fast enough to where more memory is not "needed"

You will see quite a noticeable increase with an X1950XT 256mb over an X1950PRO 512...
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 02:40 PM   #37 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

Thanks for all the info
AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 03:12 PM   #38 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

AntonOle,

Video memory has noting to do with performance. A 256MB X1950XT is better than 512MB X1950Pro. However, 320MB 8800GTS is better than both and it supports DX10
maroon1 is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 05:05 PM   #39 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

DX10 is useless for Win XP though right? Im not switching to Vista, not yet..

By the way, what is video memory for then?

Thanks
AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 06:32 PM   #40 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by AntonOle View Post
DX10 is useless for Win XP though right? Im not switching to Vista, not yet..

By the way, what is video memory for then?

Thanks
Yes you right it is useless without vista and it's also 80 bucks more. video memory is used to store the textures of coarse but 256mb is enough to offer good gaming if memory clock is fast enough.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista Upgrade uzi9mm Off Topic Discussion 18 07-19-2007 09:26 PM
Soon to upgrade... Dr DMoney New Systems | Building and Buying 9 05-07-2007 10:41 PM
Upgrade this Dell dimension C251 uniq1 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-01-2007 07:42 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM
Cant burn to Imation 16x DVD-R!! Cant upgrade DVD-RW firmware either!! Rawan AbuSalman Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-17-2007 05:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.