Please Help With Upgrade - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2007, 12:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

isnt overclocking dangerous ? how can it be done without harming the card?

PSU as in Power Supply Unit? Its just a standard one at 400Wats and 230V
__________________

AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 12:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

Oh...I meant what's the brand and model.

Overclocking is not dangerous these days. Just take it up in increments of 5-10MHz at a time, each time testing for stability. When you have found the max it will run, without having artifacts shown....lower the overclock a little to be on the safe side.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 12:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

Dont really know about the PSU.. Id have to open it again..

One last question... Isnt it a bit dated, to buy a 256MB card when there are 512s and even 1GBs out? i mean there is a 512MB model too..
AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 12:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

The amount of memory on a graphic card, mostly depends on what resolution you are playing at. If you play at high resolutions, such as 1600x1200 and up, then 512mb will come in handy. Resolutions like 1280x1024, a 256mb graphic card is ok.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 12:16 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

well there is something that is important and i didnt mention then

I have a 20" Widescreen monitor that runs at 1680x1050..........
AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 12:18 PM   #16 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

If you want, get the 512mb version then. I play at that resolution with a 256mb, and it does great. It's probably because I have 2gb of ram.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 12:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

do you use the highest possible settings?
AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 12:22 PM   #18 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

Yes...but that's also because I'm using a C2D, which helps too.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 12:24 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

Do you think i could play any game at the highest settings with no problems at all with :

2GB RAM
Nvidia 7900GTX (512MB)

?
AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 12:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Please Help With Upgrade

Yes you can....but the 7900GTX is too expensive, when you can get a cheaper card, that will perform close to or better. If you're spending that much on a video card...I would go for what Sora mentioned....the X1950XT.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista Upgrade uzi9mm Off Topic Discussion 18 07-19-2007 09:26 PM
Soon to upgrade... Dr DMoney New Systems | Building and Buying 9 05-07-2007 10:41 PM
Upgrade this Dell dimension C251 uniq1 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-01-2007 07:42 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM
Cant burn to Imation 16x DVD-R!! Cant upgrade DVD-RW firmware either!! Rawan AbuSalman Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-17-2007 05:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.