Please help! Real newb question :) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2010, 09:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Chillstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Between a rock and a hard place
Posts: 73
Default Please help! Real newb question :)

Hi guys, i'm building a computer soon and doing as much research as possible. The thing I would like to know is this motherboard Scan.co.uk: Asus M4A88T-M AMD 880G AM3 Motherboard has a HDMI port. I am going to be buying it with this GPU Scan.co.uk: Sapphire HD 5670 Graphics Card - 11168-15-20R and I would like to know whether plugging a HDMI cable from the motherboard to a monitor would use the motherboards on-board graphics or the GPU's graphics?

Thanks in advance guys!
Regards, Chillstalker
__________________

Chillstalker is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 09:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Please help! Real newb question :)

You want to use the GPU's HDMI. When a PCI-E GPU is present, it will default to the GPU.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 09:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Chillstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Between a rock and a hard place
Posts: 73
Default Re: Please help! Real newb question :)

Yeah its just i want to connect to two monitors, one is a 22" and the other is a 32" which i will only be using when playing dvd's. I was just wondering so i could save costs on buying a splitter. So if i understand you right the motherboards HDMI port will default to using the GPU's graphics, so i can conect the mobo's HDMI port to the 32" and the GPU's port to the 22" and the 32" will still get the GPU's graphics? If i havent overcomplicated that
Chillstalker is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 11:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Please help! Real newb question :)

you can't use the onboard video and the video card video at the same time. It's one or the other.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-28-2010, 09:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: Please help! Real newb question :)

Just connect them both to the GPU.
Neither monitors have a DVI port?
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 11-28-2010, 04:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Chillstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Between a rock and a hard place
Posts: 73
Default Re: Please help! Real newb question :)

no they're both TV's. Does DVI carry HD video? if so i think i get a DVI to HDMI adapter free with the GPU im going to buy
Chillstalker is offline  
Old 11-28-2010, 05:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: Please help! Real newb question :)

DVI carries the same (or higher, not sure) resolution as HDMI. Neither of the TV's has DVI input?
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 07:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: Please help! Real newb question :)

Keep in mind that DVI doesn't "transport" sound, if I'm not mistaken.
__________________

ASUS P5P77D :: INTEL i5 750@3.6 GHz :: Asus HD4890 :: 4GB Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz CL7 :: WD Black 1TB :: SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB :: Corsair 750TX :: LG L204WT :: Windows 7 x64

<<<<<<<<<< If you think I've been helpful in anyway rep me :p
farinha is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 11:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: lowestoft, UK
Posts: 47
Send a message via MSN to KASCOM
Default Re: Please help! Real newb question :)

most of the newer cards now carry sound via the hdmi like the GTX460 ect
KASCOM is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 01:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Please help! Real newb question :)

Only if you connect the sound cable, however... doesn't he display port carry sound?
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newb Question Indobos Overclocking and Modding 3 07-14-2007 03:22 PM
Newb Question noxarcana Overclocking and Modding 0 08-17-2006 04:40 AM
Newb Question ulater6000 Off Topic Discussion 3 03-31-2006 06:51 PM
newb question eLeVeN_11 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 01-15-2006 08:15 PM
NEWB Question.. maybe not? OnlyCurious Programming 4 01-07-2005 01:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.