Please Help With New Rig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2008, 06:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Talking Please Help With New Rig

I need help with my new build! It's time to upgrade! I'm going to sell my current computer to a friend and I need to fair price, any suggestions? Other than that I just have a few ideas I've been playing around with.. Help is highly valued, thanks!

- Vista Ultimate 64bit
- AMD Phenom Quad Core
- High End Graphics Card(s)

EMPHASIS : Gaming
BUDGET : Current PC Value + $1400
__________________

__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 10:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Please Help With New Rig

If you have that much money you might as well wait for the new chips to come out (Intel). They are speculated to be between 20-30% faster than current chips.

If your an AMD fan then you could go with something now but, you never no, AMD might lower it's prices.

Btw - Vista Ultimate really isn't worth the extra money, 64 Bit Home Premium would suffice.
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default Re: Please Help With New Rig

I think I will wait then because I've been hearing many people waiting for the performance enhancement. However my current machine will still be sold to my friend, what would you say is a fair price..
cyberpower case w/window
2x1gb corsair dominator 6400
2x8600gt
gigabyte mobo
amd 4600+
700watt ps

ps. I'm most likely going to wait then if those new intel chips are better than the AMD Phenom x4. Ive heard the x3 is just a crappy nonworking x4 anyway. I've been an AMD fan however for the performance I may make a switch to intel in the near future. By that time I will have a bit more money to budget on a pc. Thanks!
__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 05:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Please Help With New Rig

Theres really not much reason to wait for nehalem if its going to be a gaming machine. Tests are showing that nehalem is going to be great for rendering and stuff of that nature, but due to the small l1 and l2 cache sizes, its not going to be that great for gaming.

Right now your best bet is going with a solid p45 chipset (x48 if you want crossfire), a q9550, good cpu cooler, 4gb of RAM, (dominators are overpriced for what they are), a solid power supply and depending on the size of your monitor, a 4870 or 4870x2.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 10:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Please Help With New Rig

Never heard that before

You could always wait, just incase.

Also the rig i would sell for between $500-$600 (could get more) but it's probably only worth around $400-$500.

~ I thought that the X3 series where pretty good, i saw a review on one and it got similar scores as a E8400, but it has an extra core. What i heard was that the X4 series of AMD are the really bad chips.

Then again i don't no much about AMD.
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 11:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Please Help With New Rig

ur not gonna get much for your computer i tell you now, prob 400-500 at the most. nobody really wants sli 8600gt's.

as for the new computer, u could just upgrade now but i would wait until nehalem (lastanility). but if ur amd fan then the x3's are not too bad. the x4 are nto the best for overclocking though. for high end u really wanna stay intel.

EDIT: just saw above redmoon already suggested price. xD
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 01:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Please Help With New Rig

Np :laughing:

I was talking to a mate who knows more than me in the AMD area and he was saying the lack of L2 Cache was due to the fact of Intel recreating a similar style to the old AMD's which have a great L3 Cache.

He said some other stuff but i don't remember, so don't count out the new chips just yet.
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 02:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default Re: Please Help With New Rig

I was thinking around that price maybe a bit higher at 650 but again it's dated, and my friend doesn't really game (not that those cards are great for gaming). Sounds like for a 1500-2000 build I should go with Intel then? I have seen a video talking about the architecture between AMD and Intel Quadcores which concluded AMD was superior in design thus the better processor. Can someone with Intel knowledge recommend a good new setup for the budget? Thanks!
__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 06:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Please Help With New Rig

Quote:
I have seen a video talking about the architecture between AMD and Intel Quadcores which concluded AMD was superior in design thus the better processor.
A few years ago yes, AMD have a great chip design but a few flaws have caused it to fall behind. The newer chips (Intel) look like they will be based of an AMD design.

As mentioned why not wait? You could get a better rig that would last you 5 years, apposed to a rig that will last you 3.
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 06:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Please Help With New Rig

Get a Wolfdale chip (e7200 or e8400) and p45 (Biostar makes the best), 2 or 4 gigs of ram and a 4850 or 4870 and you will be set for the most part.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Striker II Extreme 790i, new rig problem. System slow? manowar Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-09-2008 05:15 AM
New gaming rig Metalice New Systems | Building and Buying 14 05-07-2008 10:16 PM
New rig, have I doen a booboo Lockers New Systems | Building and Buying 39 03-04-2008 12:47 PM
My New Alienware ALX Rig... KNiGHTMaRe89 New Systems | Building and Buying 41 02-25-2008 10:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.