PLEASE HELP: My Computer turns on but no display ! I tried everything. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2013, 03:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: PLEASE HELP: My Computer turns on but no display ! I tried everything.

Obviously. You didn't install the CPU properly.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 03:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default Re: PLEASE HELP: My Computer turns on but no display ! I tried everything.

i did install it properly. i think it came with bent pins
__________________

aandyxp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 03:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default Re: PLEASE HELP: My Computer turns on but no display ! I tried everything.

the thing is is that preventing the computer from having any display..
aandyxp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 03:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: PLEASE HELP: My Computer turns on but no display ! I tried everything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aandyxp View Post
i did install it properly. i think it came with bent pins
If it came with bent pins then why would you install a CPU into it that way?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aandyxp View Post
the thing is is that preventing the computer from having any display..
Like I said, obviously. Bent pins means the board isn't making proper contact with the CPU and if they are that bad there is a good possibility the CPU is fried too.
That means it isn't just the video, your whole computer isn't going to work. When you get a new board back you better hope the CPU still works.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default Re: PLEASE HELP: My Computer turns on but no display ! I tried everything.

it shouldnt.. they are returning it back to me. i swear when i shipped it, it was fine. they said it has several severely bent pins. Ill have to see it myself in order to judge.
aandyxp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 03:04 AM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: PLEASE HELP: My Computer turns on but no display ! I tried everything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aandyxp View Post
it shouldnt.. they are returning it back to me. i swear when i shipped it, it was fine. they said it has several severely bent pins. Ill have to see it myself in order to judge.
I'm sorry to say this to you, but if newegg sees amd cpu bent pins atleast 6 or more there is nothing they can do for you.
If you call amd tomorrow ask the policy on bent pins you will be in for a rude awakening.
You will need to get a new cpu if its unrepairable.

"coming from a amd-intel based user"

Best of luck on your rma.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 03:42 AM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: PLEASE HELP: My Computer turns on but no display ! I tried everything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMike View Post
I'm sorry to say this to you, but if newegg sees amd cpu bent pins atleast 6 or more there is nothing they can do for you.
If you call amd tomorrow ask the policy on bent pins you will be in for a rude awakening.
You will need to get a new cpu if its unrepairable.

"coming from a amd-intel based user"

Best of luck on your rma.
Dude what? He had an i5 and the motherboard had bent pins.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 05:49 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: PLEASE HELP: My Computer turns on but no display ! I tried everything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Dude what? He had an i5 and the motherboard had bent pins.
Sorry kid I misread the topic abit he said bent cpu pins did he not ? :/
Anyway if he has bent motherboard pins, he may want to make sure his i5 isn't scratched up at all.

Your a intel cpu expert at heart mguire so you should know first hand what intel will check before even letting him get the cpu rmaed through them for free.

If I'm right, he may as well, look into new cpu replacement.
I know he doesn't want to spend the cash, but you when gonna do if you have no other options left ?
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 10:35 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Lalien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Send a message via Skype™ to Lalien
Default Re: PLEASE HELP: My Computer turns on but no display ! I tried everything.

This happened to me once. Turned out a little pin on my cpu was broken. Sad day.
Had to replace my mobo and my CPU.
Lalien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 02:47 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: PLEASE HELP: My Computer turns on but no display ! I tried everything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMike View Post
Sorry kid I misread the topic abit he said bent cpu pins did he not ? :/
Anyway if he has bent motherboard pins, he may want to make sure his i5 isn't scratched up at all.

Your a intel cpu expert at heart mguire so you should know first hand what intel will check before even letting him get the cpu rmaed through them for free.

If I'm right, he may as well, look into new cpu replacement.
I know he doesn't want to spend the cash, but you when gonna do if you have no other options left ?
Correct terminology is socket pins or motherboard pins for LGA but technicality aside they are still CPU pins. Yea I already told him he would be lucky if his CPU isn't actually fried. Too many voltage connections and not enough ground could cause an instant short if the socket was that badly damaged.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.