Please Help: MOBO+CPU Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2006, 04:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to rosnettn
Question MOBO+CPU Gaming Upgrade!

EDIT: I apologize, most of you are probably rolling your eyes at this post! I realize, after reading other posts, that you get a million of these questions. I really appreciate the help though, I'm learning a lot already (such as the mysterious AMD reading). Thank you.
______________________________


I've been out of the "techosphere" for about 2 years, and I am ready to upgrade my ancient 1.6ghz processor (and motherboard). I was wondering if I could get a suggestion, I'd like to get a nice video card eventually ( pci x16?) but for now I am hoping to get a nice, fast AMD with a good motherboard for no more than $300. Hopefully somewhere in the high 2ghz range. Well, any help is VERY appreciated! Also, I don't know how to install a processor, but I'm sure if I am to get what I want for the price, I'll have to do it (or have it done). No biggie.

I guess I should mention that I am an avid gamer and want something that can last for a while in that respect. Thanks again!
__________________

rosnettn is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 06:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

what type of ram you currently have? and if its ddr whats its rating? pc3200 for example , you might need to get that too

what about graphic card , you want the mobo to have it onboard til youll get something better or use your current? and if so what is your current? , your sure you want only new mobo+cpu? you can get a pretty good graphic card too with that budget

what psu you have? brand/model
your case is atx or micro atx?
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 12:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to rosnettn
Default

Hey, thanks for the reply.

I have (x2) 512mb DDR 3200 (only get 992mb because they are different manufacturers), I have a Radeon 9250 (256mb) PCI, not sure about the power supply, believe it's 250W (can change that later) and have an atx mid-tower (gonna get a new one too).

I bought my stupid card RIGHT before 2.0 shading became standard, and I don't want to make the mistake again, but I'll worry about that after I get the mobo/cpu (as well as everything else).

Thanks again!

EDIT: I REALLY think I wanna go with this CPU:

AMD Athlon 64 3700+ 2000MHz HT Socket 939 Processor
* 2.2GHz
* 90 nm San Diego
* 1MB L2 Cache

It is retailing for $235 on newegg.com. Does this seem good? If so, I can then worry about what motherboard I'll need, heh.

It recommends this:

BIOSTAR TForce4SLI Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard

Is there anything better? It's only $90 (about my price range).

Things are making a LOT more sense now .
rosnettn is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 01:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

monarchcomputer.com has some good deals on motherboard/cpu combos, and they come pre-tested and assembled, you can also choose to have them add thermal grease for a small charge. If you aren't comfortable installing a CPU then I suggest doing that.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 01:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to rosnettn
Default

Actually, I looked at that site, and you only get four choices for AMD processors. I really want the one I mentioned. Thanks, though.
rosnettn is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 05:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

get a MSI Neo4-f with that cpu and yes that cpu is and excellent single core cpu it will work with this mobo
__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 06:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

i wouldnt get that msi mobo cuz it have too much negative reviews on newegg , i suggest youll go with abit kn8 ultra/asus a8n-e/dfi nf4 ultra-d

youll defintly need a new psu , i recommend these
http://store.yahoo.com/directron/ax450pn.html
http://store.yahoo.com/directron/tpii430.html
jeremy is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 08:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

newegg reviews are mostly bogus.

I go for reviews on actual forums, and from what I've learned...the MSI neo4-f mobo is awesome...also a good overclocker
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 09:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

Oh and also I don't know where you found only 4 choices for AMD processors. You can get any CPU you want.

here

The MSI mobo and 3700+ CPU is about 312+shipping.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 11:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to rosnettn
Default

Oh wow! Thank you all very much! Very, very helpful info.
__________________

rosnettn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.