Please help me regarding a monitor purchase - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2008, 12:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 21
Default Please help me regarding a monitor purchase

I would like to get this monitor here :
Newegg.com - Acer AL2616Wd Silver 26" 5ms (GTG) DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor with HDCP support 500 cd/m2 800:1 (DCR 1600:1) - Retail

However, because of my graphics card , I don't normally run my resolutions that much higer than 1024 by760 in games. I have a 22 inch 6 year old standard monitor right now, but I heard that with an LCD it can't work on 1024 by760 resolutions or something about it can't be changed to that setting?
__________________

jclewis is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 01:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Please help me regarding a monitor purchase

it can be run at that setting, but since it is not its native resolution, it will look like crap. What is your graphics card?
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 01:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Please help me regarding a monitor purchase

The monitor is able to run at that resolution but it won't look crisp.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 01:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Please help me regarding a monitor purchase

1920 x 1200 looks better on a 24".

But if you have a weak card, you shouldn't be getting a monitor with a resolution that big, if you're gaming.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 01:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Please help me regarding a monitor purchase

Also, what graphics do you have?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 01:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 21
Default Re: Please help me regarding a monitor purchase

Quote:
Originally Posted by taintedplay View Post
it can be run at that setting, but since it is not its native resolution, it will look like crap. What is your graphics card?
I have a geforce 8800, so does that mean I can still get the LCD and scale it down without uber distortion?
jclewis is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 01:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Please help me regarding a monitor purchase

You're saying a 8800 can't run at 1920 by 1200? or you can't play games higher than 1024 by 768?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 01:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Please help me regarding a monitor purchase

Which one? It'll handle that resolution all day as long as your not gaming on it.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 01:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: Please help me regarding a monitor purchase

which model 8800? cuz my gts only goes up to 1680x1050... which would work, but wouldnt look great, i dont think... specially not for gaming...
why so big a monitor anyways? my 22" is way big enough... for me at least... : / - RK
__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 02:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 21
Default Re: Please help me regarding a monitor purchase

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
You're saying a 8800 can't run at 1920 by 1200? or you can't play games higher than 1024 by 768?
Well I still get a little choppiness with some games, so I figured that turning up the resolution might slow down performance.
__________________

jclewis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.