Please Help! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2006, 01:07 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

from you primary ide slot you will have a ide cable with two connectors the one on the end is the master. connect that to your hd. change the jumper settings on your cd to either cable select(try first) or slave and connect it to the middle connector. It could be a tight cable run. You may have to pull the hd or cd to make it fit. If it works great the rma the board if it does not more troubleshooting.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:15 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 104
Default

The HDD cable yes it has 3 heads, main one is connected to primary, I only have one dvd atm, no hard disk or floppy, one f the other pins at the end is connected to the CD and the other one to nothing. It still freezes.

I tried connecting the CD rom cable to SEC IDE and to the cd, and it freezes too.

Im reinstalling Windows right now, if it keeps giving me problems Im gonna try setting the DVD on slave mode and update drivers if i can. If doesnt work I'll take out a CD rom from this comp and try it.
__________________

ChibChombo is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:21 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

the drive will let you install windows ok? is your hard drive sata?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:23 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 104
Default

Yes windows installs without a problem, my hard drive is a 10,000 RPM ATA, but I don't see where I connect a big pin, its connected from a SATA cable to SATA 1 on motherboard
ChibChombo is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:29 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

ok so sata hard drive. you dont plug that in with the ide cable so pri master should work for cd. Do the reinstall and let us know how it goes.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:34 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 104
Default

Ok so HDD cable big one shouldnt go in IDE primary right now, gonna try then
ChibChombo is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:59 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 104
Default

oh god thank you, works!
__________________

ChibChombo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.