PLEASE HELP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2012, 04:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 41
Default PLEASE HELP!

i just put together my new build, i did everything like i always do and what not. when i turn my computer on it posts twice, i think this is just the sabertooth motherboard, however no matter how i try to connect my pc to a screen it doesnt work.
iv tried my normal cord and a hdmi cord, could this be my gpu, i have the asus gtx 570
thanks in advance guys
__________________

highelve0065 is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 07:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: PLEASE HELP!

Please list all of your components.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 01:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Default Re: PLEASE HELP!

Sounds like you didn't connect your graphics card correctly into the motherboard.

Is it firmly in the pci-e slot and did you plug both PCI-E power dongles (6 pin) in?
ChosterF is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 02:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 41
Default Re: PLEASE HELP!

intel core i5 2500k
cooler master v6 gt cpu cooler
asus gtx 570
asus sabertooth p67
g skill sniper ram 8gb 1600mh (2x 4gb sticks)
coolermaster silent pro 850w psu
500g hd
1tb hd
blue ray drive
dvd burner
thernamtake chaser mk1 case
asus wifi card
1x extra cooler master 200ml fan


i no my gpu isnt fualty as i have put another gpu (from the pc im currently using to post this) in it and its the same issues, i havnt tried putting that gpu (non working pc) into this one as i have to go to work right now. however if anyone is fimilar with the sabertooth p67, i have a red led next to my ram could that be the issue
im sure i put it in correctly, i have tried different ram and its the same issue, however my pc still looks like its running, so im stumpt
highelve0065 is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 04:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Just Epic.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London
Posts: 579
Default Re: PLEASE HELP!

those red lights are normal (i have the p67 sabertooth aswell) four red lights should turn on. 1st one to the bottom left of the ram 2nd at the top of the ram 3rd top left of the gpu (underneath the usb bit thing that says sabertooth p67 (should probably know what thats called)) and finally a red light above the sata ports.

Edit: look at chapter 2-14 in the manual it explains the post state leds.

To quote the manual

"2. POST State LEDsThe POST State LEDs of CPU, DRAM, VGA card, and HDD indicate key components status during POST (Power-on Self Test). If an error is found , the LED next to the error device will continue lighting until the problem is solved. This user-friendly design provides an intuitional way to locate the root problem within a second."

this diagram is what i was trying to explain above (its from the manual)

Attachment 5063

hope this helps, i think the red light staying next to your ram means thats the problem (either the ram or cpu depending what light you meant)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (73.5 KB, 110 views)
__________________
- EVGA GTX 780 - I5 2500K @ 4.5GHz
- Corsair H100 - Asus Sabertooth P67
- Corsair TX850 - 2 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
- 120GB Corsair Force 3 - Windows 7 64 bit
- Arctic Silver 5 - Black NZXT Phantom
- Linksys WMP600n - Some random Samsung DVD drive

Sennheiser HD598s, over ear Momentum and Fiio e17
Crossfire 27" 1440p monitor
Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 - Cyanogen
HTC One Black 32gb - Android Revolution HD
Samsung Galaxy Tab pro 8.4 - Cyanogen
Mischa is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 05:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: PLEASE HELP!

Have you tried resetting the bios?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 05:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: PLEASE HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Have you tried resetting the bios?
Such a simple thing most people over look. +1 for Slay.
__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 02:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 41
Default Re: PLEASE HELP!

everything is working fine now thanks to all who helped
__________________

highelve0065 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.