Please criticize my build before I buy - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2006, 07:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

7900GT -http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130281
SATA Hard Drive
2GB Value Ram
__________________

__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 07:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

ok, a few suggestions

1. upgrade to a 7900gt
2. switch from Corsair to OCZ (zzf has 2 gig OCZ gold for $150)
3. get a bigger hard drive
__________________

Spartan is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 08:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Spartan666 can you give me a link to that ram?

-Changed to 7900GT
-Changed to Western Digital Caviar 200GB SATA
Western Digital 200GB
Seeds225 is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 08:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...ductCode=85208

its $189.80 before a $40.00 mail in rebate ($149.80 after) plus no tax and shipping
Spartan is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 08:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 68
Default

if you can try, spring the extra $$$ for a 4400 X2 because it has 2X 1mb caches opposed to the 2X 512k caches, its hardcore
Curry Viking is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 08:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Curry Viking
if you can try, spring the extra $$$ for a 4400 X2 because it has 2X 1mb caches opposed to the 2X 512k caches, its hardcore
totally forgot bout that, yeah, thats true. you should either drop down to a 3800 or upgrade to a 4400 for the cache

btw, u will do NO OCing at all?? jw
Spartan is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 08:46 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

looks good, did u forget a sound card?? its really not necessary, unless you really want nice sound, lanparty motherboards already have very good onboard sound

if you do want a sound card, a good choice is the X-Fi Xtrememusic

Link: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...SubCategory=57

anyway, have fun building your machine
Spartan is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 08:49 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Yeah I'm gonna wait on a sound card for a while. Thanks for the help.
Seeds225 is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 08:53 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

no problem
__________________

Spartan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.