Please 'build' me a new computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

highstrung

Beta member
Hello all,

I am currently looking to buy a new computer. I'm pretty new to computer hardware and such, so I honestly don't trust myself to come up with all the right parts. :laughing: I've been browsing this forum for a few days now, so I'm starting to get a better idea, but I'm still in no position to figure it all out myself. Ironically, I do plan to actually put the computer together myself, as I've come across a few beginner-friendly guides. I could pay a company like Dell to make one for me, but I think it'll be a good learning experience to do it myself. Not to forget the sense of accomplishment at the end.

I've never been a big gamer, but it's something that I'd now like to get into, so the computer would need to be able to play top-notch games. But on top of that, I'll be using the computer to do the basic stuff like surfing the Internet, browsing photos, and editing home videos.

So to reiterate, I need your guys' help to pick out all of the parts I need. I need the whole package including monitor, operating system, speakers, keyboard, and mouse. Oh, and when picking out a case, I would prefer something more business-looking like the HP Blackbird. As for my budget, I don't really have one so I wouldn't worry about it unless it's like a $200K super computer. :happy: The important thing here is quality, so don't shy out on picking out the best parts possible.

Thanks guys.

well i'll help guide your way with some nice parts... i personally don't like to go off the no budget deal.. so i would build you one in the 1k-2k range

mobo: Gigabyte EX58
memory: 3x1GB g.skill ddr1333 (u don't plan to oc.. so you don't need no 1600 mhz ram)
video card: either a gtx260 core 216 or 4870 1gb (depends if you wanna go ati crossfire or nvidia sli later on)... of course if you want big time gaming on high res... go with a 4870x2
cpu: intel core i7 920