Playing games at 1280x1024.... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2006, 09:47 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350

How many inches is it...?

EDIT: 19? Okay.

Just wondering.

Kitire is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:00 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

I dunno... but is playing on 1024x768 not an option? That resolution really seems like a good one for me. Unless you've spoiled yourself with the eye candy of higher resolutions for too long. I mean, you can just consider knocking it down to 1024x768 when the end of the card's life starts approaching.



<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource:
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:44 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

Well, 1024x768 looks like a dung sandwich on my LCD. It looks so bad that it completly ruins the games. Because I got an LCD, I MUST play at the native resolution which is 1280x1024. LCD companies need to so something to fix this on 19" models because 1024x768 is pretty much the standard resolution for gaming. 17" models have a lower dot pitch so they look a bit better at 1024x768.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 05:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, on the Lake. Its my backyard :)
Posts: 296

hmm might wanna get another gig of ram then, I run all my games @ 1280x1024 usually on high settings with atleast 2-4x AA. Usually getting no lower than 45fps in all my games cept fear.

And the 7800GT should last for a little while longer, its a **** of a card, maybe after the newer UT engine gets used more, then it might be time to upgrade.
AMD X2 555 unlocked to X4 B55 @3.5 | 8GB GSkill Sniper series | Asus M4A89GTD Pro/Usb3 | 2x XFX HD6850 | 600W OCZ ModXStream | Thermaltake V9 Black edition | Corsair H50 | 2x 1TB Samsung HD's
TipsySmile is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 05:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312

Get a cheap CRT, use the LCD at your work or office pc or whatever
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 05:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961

Maybe a new monitor is the answer, I play on 1024x768 or even 800x600 and I think it looks great, maybe I'm not just as picky though. Also note that 17 inch monitors are clearer because they have a smaller dot pitch, making the image sharper. So at 1024 the pixels are further apart on a 19 incher making it look worse then on a 17 inch.
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 05:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
PP Mguire's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 26,047

Its not your video Beed. Get another gig of RAM and run it dual channel and running 1280x1024 on that 7800GT will be fine. COD2 is like a pesky fly to my rig at 1280x1024 because having 2 gig of ram really helps now.
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire Mechwarrior Online = Thunderson PSN = PP_Mguire

Need Descent and Mechwarrior buddies!
If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 05:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 77

I just found out all my spec's on my CRT and it can only push 65 Hz on 1280 x 1024 which is the MAX Resolution on it. That seems kind of crappy for me because I'm not updating the screen yet. Will the Geforce 6800 GS work fine on it? It's a COMPAQ S710 CRT.

Is this normal for a CRT screen?
Hovertime is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 05:53 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543

you should get a cheap crt and use a dual monitor set up so you can play games on the crt and do whatever else on the lcd
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 06:10 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC

I just don't see why you have a problem BEE. I'm still playing with my X800XT PE and a Viewsonic VX-924 19", I always have my resolution set to 1280X1024. I don't have any issues at that resolution with settings on high. And technically the 7800GT destroys my X800XT PE.

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.