Planning for the future... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2006, 06:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
CECS Major
 
Chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase
Default Planning for the future...

Well, right now I have this setup:

::-:: ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
::-:: AMD 64 3500+ (2.2) (939)
::-:: 1GB Crucial Ballistix (2-2-2-6) (400)
::-:: ASUS x1900xt 512mb (ordered today!)
::-:: 80GB WD SATA II HD
::-:: 250GB WD SATA II HD


Here's my situation:

Since I just upgraded to the x1900xt, what component should it be next? My mobo does not support X2 processors and does not support DDR2 (since it's not socket AM2 of course).

Here are the options I have:

::-:: Stick with the mobo I have and switch out the current processor for an FX down the road, and simply put more RAM in and maybe a Raptor if needed.

--or--

::-:: Buy a completely new mobo and new processor (would probably be an X2 if I went to the extent of buying a new mobo).


The one thing I do know though, is that I will eventually need to uprgade or just save huge on a new build (using this current build as maybe a server or guest machine with my 6600GT in it). As of right now the 3500+ I have dosn't bat an eye at any game I throw at it (since the processor dosn't dictate your gameplay so much as the graphics card), but I know for UT2007 I am going to have to juice up my specs some more. So....of my options and your own experiences what now? Which option (or maybe a different route)?

Thanks for the help all,

::-Chase-::
__________________

Chase is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 03:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

i say save up your pennys and get a whole new mobo. i wouldnt waste money onan fx series cpu for a couple of reasons.. one, further down the road if your planning for the future you will probably want a dual core cpu anywayand would have wasted alot of money on a overpriced cpu. another reason is you could get a GREAT performing conroe setup with that money and still have it ready for the future..just sell your current setup..

throw it on ebay fora like 100 or soover priced, im sure some grandmother will shell out the big bucks so jonny can play his games.

as sombody once said.
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 03:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

^^^^ I agree, if you're gonna wait to buy a new mobo in which case no matter what you'd be buying ddr2 memory, might as well go with conroe, IF the prices on mobos has dropped enough. If they havent pick up like a x2 4600+/4800+ dont get fx series seeing as the x2 500+ is gonna be relativiely cheap. Just oc it 200mhz and you have a fx-62.

Im pretty sure a athlon x2 will work on your mobo though, so there's really no need to buy a new mobo.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 03:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ridlyn
^^^^ I agree, if you're gonna wait to buy a new mobo in which case no matter what you'd be buying ddr2 memory, might as well go with conroe, IF the prices on mobos has dropped enough. If they havent pick up like a x2 4600+/4800+ dont get fx series seeing as the x2 500+ is gonna be relativiely cheap. Just oc it 200mhz and you have a fx-62.

Im pretty sure a athlon x2 will work on your mobo though, so there's really no need to buy a new mobo.
umm... don't even go 4600 or 4800... go 3800 or 4200... or 4000 and 4400... everything above those seem to get pricey... even with these price cuts

and for your motherboard.. can't you just check the website for the drivers and see if they got a new one that supports dual core?
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 03:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131517

read the very first review... it does accept X2 chips... So IMO I would say go for an 3800 x2 S939 and another GB of RAM... that'll keep ya for a couple of years before you really NEED to build again


A8N-SLI Deluxe
http://usa.asus.com/products.aspx?l1...75&modelmenu=1
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 03:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131517

read the very first review... it does accept X2 chips... So IMO I would say go for an 3800 x2 S939 and another GB of RAM... that'll keep ya for a couple of years before you really NEED to build again


A8N-SLI Deluxe
http://usa.asus.com/products.aspx?l1...75&modelmenu=1
yes, exactly as i said, update the bios... errr well i said drivers but thats what i meant....

and nukem.. how long ago did you get your 4200.. these price drops must make you sad ... i bought my opty a long time ago and it still makes me sad
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 04:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

I bought it about 8 months ago... got it OEM from Newegg for 356... So, ummm, yeeeeaaa, but hey I'm not worried... I'm trying to unload it and get a 4800 x2 found one of those for 329.00
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 04:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

would it happen to be on monarch computer.. they're selling stuff dirt cheap from amd
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 04:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Yeppers!!!!!!!!!!! that's why I'm tyring to unload it now, so I can get it before they get wise... LOL
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 04:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ya... i guess they didnt realise everyone else didnt drop they're 2mb cache cpu's...
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.