Planning on building my first computer, help me out - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2006, 10:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default Planning on building my first computer, help me out

This is going to be my first build, im basically looking for some power. I play some PC games mostly Battlefield 2, and burn DVDs, internet, etc. So this is not supposed to be the ulitmate gaming computer.

Case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129017

Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813135022

Power Supply: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103937

CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115004

CPU Cooler:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118003

RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/CustRa...82E16820145590

VIDEO CARD:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814143049

Hard Drive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148113

Let me know what you guys thinks, im open to anything, since this is my first build from the ground up. Thanks. Also if all this stuff will work together...
__________________

Da11en47 is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 10:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 149
Default

I am not that much of a critic because i have only made one computer. But i would say that if you are not that big of a gamer, you probably would not be overclocking your CPU. And in that case, i think you could save 50 dollars by just using the stock cooler or however much it is.

But if you are going to overclock it, than it will go far with that cooler

edit : Also, i know that it is not much, but you could save 10$ by getting one of these hard drives.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ice=&maxPrice=
I have that Spinpoint one and it is working fine, i like it a lot
__________________

noxarcana is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 10:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default

Is something wrong with the case? As for overclocking the cpu, I would like too if its possible, I will get back into gaming on the PC once some better games come out.
__________________
i5 3570k (OC to 4.2 mhz)
Geforce 650 Ti Boost 2gb
16 MB RAM
Windows 7
Da11en47 is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 10:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

The case is an awesome one.

I dunno about using an ECS board. While I have no personal experience with them, I've heard bad stories...

Look into this hard drive:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148144
Still Seagate, still SATA, but with a 16MB cache and perpendicular recording. Same price as well.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 10:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default

Now that hard drive has a 16mb Cache, does the CPU cache and the hard drive cache have anything to do with each other?

What motherboard you recommend? (all the reviews are good for the board I choose on newegg)
__________________
i5 3570k (OC to 4.2 mhz)
Geforce 650 Ti Boost 2gb
16 MB RAM
Windows 7
Da11en47 is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 11:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
does the CPU cache and the hard drive cache have anything to do with each other?
Nope.

I just recommended this one in another thread:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131032
but if you're not overclocking the one you picked will probably be fine.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.