Pixelpipelines - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2006, 01:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to mizner07
Default Pixelpipelines

What is better to have more or less pixelpipelines for a video card?
__________________

mizner07 is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 01:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

Generally more pixel pipelines is better. But with some of the newer radeon cards it's a little different. Which cards are you looking at? What's your price range for a card?
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 01:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to mizner07
Default

price range is between 100-200. I was looking at

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150184
mizner07 is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 01:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Usually pixel pipelines make quite a noticeable difference in performance. That's not to say that one card with 16 will ub3r pwn one with only 12, but in most cases it will .
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 01:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

I would say that this is probably your best option in that range
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...Subcategory=48
it's essentially the same card you had picked out, but with a factory overclock. The only real competitor would be the one x1950 pro that's in that range. Im not exactly sure how the 1950 pro and the 7900 gs match up though.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 01:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to mizner07
Default

Also fo the core clock and the memory clock is it better to be higher or lower? If i want to get the Geforce 7900 GS 256mb what one should i get?
mizner07 is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 01:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

The higher the better when it comes to clock speeds. Go for the one i posted, it's factory overclocked to faster speeds.
sorry that first link doesn't work, this one should
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150202
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 02:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to mizner07
Default

k, thank you for your imput. I have decided to go with that one. Also how do you like the case you have for your computer, i was looking at that one.
__________________

mizner07 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.