*pics* my comp built and finished! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: What do you think?
Good job for a first time! 11 61.11%
Not bad. 7 38.89%
Meh... 0 0%
Umm...UPGRADE.. what r u thinking?! 0 0%
Voters: 18. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2009, 05:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

yeah most definitely. This build is fairly simple, but for me it was an experience and man I was psyched when it powered on on the first try with everything working! I hope to get an additional hard drive, a blu-ray burner, another 4850 for crossfire, another stick of ram and I think I should be good for a long time, I am not a demanding person :laughing:
__________________

james.wired is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 06:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

How come you want a blu-ray burner? They're so incredibly expensive (cheapest I can find is about 140 here in the UK, ballpark $180). As are the discs. Might as well use multiple DVD-RWs or DVD-DLs.
I mean, I want a blu-ray reader, and even then they're about 50-60. And before that I'll want a monitor to display it all.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is online now  
Old 03-02-2009, 08:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

All of your thumbnails are broken when I click them
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 08:51 PM   #14 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

Nice set up.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 09:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Druid View Post
Yeah, I had to take my motherboard out and put it back in too. Didn't see the cpu cooler coming :P
I was looking at the pictures and I said, "Someone else that made the same mistake I made the first time I built a PC."

I learned very quickly that the case is the last thing you should worry about.

Here's what I do.

1.) Mobo > Install CPU > H&S fan > Memory
Put it on the foam & antistatic bag the mobo came in.

TIP: Get yourself a set of these FrozenCPU ATX Control Kit (0014) - FrozenCPU.com

Attach to connectors on motherboard. (See mobo manual)

Install Video Card - Plug in monitor & Connect Keyboard

Connect PSU to motherboard 20+4 & 4 or 8
Connect PSU to Videocard if needed.

Plug PSU into outlet. Turn on PSU.

Press power switch button from above kit and TEST the POST.
If it POSTS head to the BIOS and become familiar with it.

Doing the above will give you a better start to completing the build. With everything out of the case you can easily troubleshoot if a problem arises. Imagine not having to put the motherboard in and than take it out than put it back in again. It's way easier.

2.) Install Mobo > Install CPU > H&S fan > Memory into case & Connect front panel connectors.

3.) Install PSU and do some wire management.

4.) Install HDD/S

5.) Install Optical Drive/s

6.) Install Video Card and Sound Card

7.) More wire management

8.) TEST - POST - Get into BIOS

9.) Install OS

10.) Post pictures... lol
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 09:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

Yeah it's easier to put the parts together first outside of the case.
__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 09:01 AM   #17 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

that is a great idea. and with the m9 case- it's hard drive bay is big to where if i need to pull it out i would have to remove the mother board. Putting everything together before installing never even crossed my mind!
james.wired is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 09:04 AM   #18 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
How come you want a blu-ray burner? They're so incredibly expensive (cheapest I can find is about 140 here in the UK, ballpark $180). As are the discs. Might as well use multiple DVD-RWs or DVD-DLs.
I mean, I want a blu-ray reader, and even then they're about 50-60. And before that I'll want a monitor to display it all.
I want a blu-ray burner because..well, I have a blu-ray player, a 1080p tv, and a 1080p monitor. Can you get the same quality of a blu-ray by using dvd-dls? I thought you would have to use blank blu-ray discs to burn them..?
james.wired is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 09:08 AM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

Quote:
Originally Posted by james.wired View Post
that is a great idea. and with the m9 case- it's hard drive bay is big to where if i need to pull it out i would have to remove the mother board. Putting everything together before installing never even crossed my mind!
It's so much nicer knowing that everything is working before you screw, mount and install everything. I've found that you will take more time to do wire management and do a neater build. It really sucks not only removing the motherboard, but if you use wire ties and a bunch of wire management and then have to take it all apart... no... that really sucks.

another tip: Cases with removable motherboard trays are a great feature.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 09:56 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

Great build....enjoy.

Now get going on Fallout 3
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kudos Finished - System Shutdown. zedman3d Off Topic Discussion 11 01-30-2009 10:37 AM
Just built first PC XDRoX New Systems | Building and Buying 15 05-10-2008 11:37 PM
Just built my comp, can someone help me? slick_tech15 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-24-2007 02:42 AM
Newly built system won't power up Sagasaki Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-21-2007 04:25 PM
No sound on newly built computer, no sound wire? ulcajun New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-01-2007 10:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.