*pics* my comp built and finished! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: What do you think?
Good job for a first time! 11 61.11%
Not bad. 7 38.89%
Meh... 0 0%
Umm...UPGRADE.. what r u thinking?! 0 0%
Voters: 18. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2009, 03:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Thumbs up *pics* my comp built and finished!

Well thanks mostly to tech forums for providing valuable information and a great community, I gained a lot of knowledge fairly quick. With a few nagging questions from me and helpful answers from you guys, over the past 2 months I gathered all my pieces for my build and from start to finish it took me like 3 friggin hours haha, sometimes frustrating but fun! Couldn't have done it without you guys!
Specs (remember I am in Panama, extremely limited selection!):

Thermaltake M9
MSI K9A2 CF-F-V2
Phenom x3 8750 (Toliman) 2.4GHz Black Edition
Core Contact Freezer (cpu idles at 31c and core at 31c)
Sapphire Radeon 4850 512mb
Corsair 550w
160GB Samsung SATAII
2GB SuperTalent DDR2 667MHz (1066mhz my next buy)
ViewSonic 21.5" LCD 1080p monitor


Now, I know it is nothing special or next gen worthy or Crysis ridiculous, but with a slim wallet it is a start Here are pics I took while building

1. Unpacked the case and put the mobo in (then found out I had to take it back out to put other things in haha:laughing:



2. Took the front off and put the drive in:


3. Installed PSU:


4. Installed processor and heat sink. Now, this heat sink was INSANE to put on. First off, it did not clip on to the mounting bracket on both sides...i tried and tried and gave up before I thought I was going to crack the motherboard from trying. I ended up taking the mounting bracket off of the mobo and just barely being able fit the clippings on each side, then screw the mounting bracket back onto the mobo on top of the processor! this is the clearance I have between it and my ram:
__________________

james.wired is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 03:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

oh crap I deleted my next post with the other pics on accident.. give me a couple minutes haha
__________________

james.wired is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 03:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

5. Put in graphics card:


6. Finished the messy wire job and final results:




Again, thanks for all of your help and I plan to stick around...I have become obsessed with building...! Now to get a job on the corner to support the addiction..
james.wired is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 03:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

Perfect cooler placement Good-looking system overall
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 04:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

Yeah, I had to take my motherboard out and put it back in too. Didn't see the cpu cooler coming :P

Yeah, my wire management is worse. I bought that red psu from pc power and cooling and it had sooooo many wires. I can't figure out what to do with them all. I just want to starting cutting, but I know that would be bad.
Druid is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 04:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

Nice, I have the exact same video card as you it's a very good overclocker especially with that heatsink... I can get 20 FPS in crysis on ultra high 1920x1080 with my video card @ 750/1100. Should be a good computer.
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 04:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

Its okay needs a lot more cable management though. Please stealth that drive it looks awkward:
DAE_JA_VOO - Full Guide
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 04:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Druid View Post
Yeah, my wire management is worse. I bought that red psu from pc power and cooling and it had sooooo many wires. I can't figure out what to do with them all. I just want to starting cutting, but I know that would be bad.
When I got my first built last november, I was the same with my Corsair - sooo many wires! And a surprising number of connectors per wire, like six molex connectors on a single wire.
Your wire management isn't bad compared to mine :P
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 05:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

yeah, I am yet to find a modular psu here! that would be needed as I have no need for all of those extras! wire ties wire ties wire ties! and saltnay, that is not a bad idea at all.. I think I can pull that off, the mesh looks a whole lot better than the old drive ruining the front for sure.
james.wired is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 05:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: *pics* my comp built and finished!

modular PSU's make cable management sooo much easier ...
__________________

chesirecat1701 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kudos Finished - System Shutdown. zedman3d Off Topic Discussion 11 01-30-2009 10:37 AM
Just built first PC XDRoX New Systems | Building and Buying 15 05-10-2008 11:37 PM
Just built my comp, can someone help me? slick_tech15 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-24-2007 02:42 AM
Newly built system won't power up Sagasaki Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-21-2007 04:25 PM
No sound on newly built computer, no sound wire? ulcajun New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-01-2007 10:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.