in a pickle.... Comp building/ mediacentr/ upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2007, 08:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default in a pickle.... Comp building/ mediacentr/ upgrade

ok i have a s939 3200 in my comp right now 512mb ram 9550se gfx card agp.... now im building a media center pc for my living room , should i just dropp that 3200 in that rig add a 512 stick of ram and a new vid card and upgrade my rig? or should a media center be beefier.. the MC will only be used for internet and watching movies and listening to music.... 3200 with a good gfx card should be able to handle that right?
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 08:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Yes it will. Just drop that in there and if you want later drop in a Manchester when you have the money. Still it's not like it'll be needed.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 08:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 83
Default

Yeah it'll be more then fine.
andrus is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 08:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

ok good good... hehehe now to build my riggg hehehehe i have a case a 460 watt ps monitor keyboard and mouse.... i would like to go amd but whateva i can get ill take
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 08:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Default

We need to know your budget and what you plan on using it for.
Jrod is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 09:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

lol ^^^ yeah sorry bout that.. well i would say about 450ish - around 600ish lil higher a lil lower.. it jsut has to be upgradeable... i was thinking about these 2 mobos EPoX EP-AD580XR Socket AM2 AMD 580X CrossFire ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail or MSI K9A Platinum Socket AM2 ATI CrossFire Radeon Xpress 3200 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail any experience? i want a cross fireable board and this is the 16x crossfire kind !!!
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 09:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Default

Intel Build:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115013

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128012

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231098

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148140

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130073

= ~$650

Could just get one 1gb stick of ram and upgrade later, that'd put it closer to $550. You could also get a smaller harddrive to cut cost. Get an aftermarket cooler like the Scythe Ninja, Tuniq Tower 120 or Zalman 9500 and you can overclock your system to atleast 3ghz. The vid card isn't the best, but it's good for the money. Also, if you want to wait a month or two get the e6320 or e6420 instead.
Jrod is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 10:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Default

AMD Build:

http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16819103046

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131014

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231085

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144701

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102034

= ~ $480

If you want to spend more you could add another gig of ram, get the 320gb Seagate hd instead, get a different vid card, buy an aftermarket cooler, etc.
__________________

Jrod is offline  
Closed Thread

« Scared | Cases »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.