%Pick a Brand% - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2006, 07:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Lightbulb %Pick a Brand%

~In order arange the RAM brand from BEST to WORST~

CORSAIR,No Name,CRUCIAL,KINGMAX,KINGSTON,OCZ,SAMSUNG
__________________

SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 07:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

G.Skill - OCZ - Corsair > Crucial > Kingston > Kingmax > Samsung > No Name.

I realize G.Skill was not an option, but generally, those are the top three.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 07:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

thnx now i know
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 08:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

watch out if your buying an AM2 board, OCZ's 6400 2 gig ddr2 kits are sometimes not compatible.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 10:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

ya im gonna buy ASUS M2npv-Vm AM2 nvidia.... 2morrow so thnx for the warning
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 11:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

Samsung bad? they make the memory chips that the other uses. wtf? how can they be bad.
efd753 is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

Well, first of all samburg made the whold 7900 series bad because of there crappy ram. Also samburg doesn't make the ram there just a lable holder. Othe manufactinjg companies do. Samburg put a stick on there cheap ram and hope someone buy it and hates it.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 09:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

Dr Dmoney the famous tccd ram chis are made by samsung. they made the actual chips.

http://www.techpowerup.com/memdb/

there find your fav ram and see that they use samsung chips. the other makers that were posted above are the ones that put the chips on a pbc and put a label on it.

Samsung is not the only chip maker but they are the high end one.
efd753 is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

good debate but still not sure if samsung is worth buying?
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

efd753
i couldn't find any Samsung PC-4200 DDR2 512MB so im quessing this is crap
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.