A Photographer PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

fais7

Baseband Member
My Current computer has been more than sufficient for my needs till now. But recently my graphic card went bust and the computer has been giving me a few problem.

So now I'm in the market to either get my current computer fixed or get a new one...which ever seems more financially and mentally sound.

Being a photographer I deal with a lot of RAW files and multiple softwares like Photoshop CS3, Digital Photo Professional etc. So that would be my main usage. On the side I do deal with a little bit of Video editing also and plan to acquire a HD Camcorder in the near future...so they'll be a lot of rendering of huge HD quality videos.

The specifications I'm looking for are...

• At least 2GB worth of some very fast memory...
  • 1*500GB or 2*250GB (which ever is a better setup) hard drive space...
  • 256MB Graphics card with HDMI capabilities...
  • I have no preference towards a motherboard or a processor....

The main concern I have is heating. My current computer is situation in my house at a location that lacks circulation which has led it to run at high temperatures especially my graphics card. I also cannot acquire computer cases with better cooling as it's either not available here or is priced too high. So I'm looking for components that might not be the best performers but will work at lower temperatures helping me keeping my system safe from that dreaded blue screen...We do get Gigabyte cases here though that seem to be good....

My budget is at $800....

This should be what you need:

Q6600 (e8000 series isn't enough for what you need)
You can get 1TB Drives' for $140, get one of those since you don't need a really good GPU
8400GS would be fine here.. (you won't be like using 3dsmax or Maya right?)
any P43 Board even P35-ish would be fine..
4gb DDR2 RAM (multi-tasking, plus CS3 is a bit of a RAM hog)
64bit Vista Home Premium