Phenom on Newegg - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2007, 04:31 PM   #41 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: Phenom on Newegg

wow whose comparing caches and why...

AMD has always had smaller cache sizes- because they use on chip memory controller- and there FSB has always been faster (or nearly) since now its like what... 3000 ht/ 6000 mhz /sec.... utilizing the RAM to its fullest extent.

As for the q6600 beating it.. uh.. keep in mind the 9700 isn't here yet- and the q6600 is not true native... oh and the OC thing.. well yea.. if you OC something.. it should perform better then something NOT OC.... but then again you can OC AMD's much better... or at least you have been able to in the past.


side note...

whats the details on this Errata problem these chips are having? Anyone have any clues?
__________________

Kisskerven is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 04:32 PM   #42 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Phenom on Newegg

they allready have a bio fix for the 790fx mobo's
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 04:50 PM   #43 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: Phenom on Newegg

oh so the "errata" problem should no longer effect?

Then why are phenom 9600 and 9700 series still postponed til Jan.....
Kisskerven is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 05:37 PM   #44 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Phenom on Newegg

i dont know if a bios fix is going to solve the problem.
i think you will have to wait until the B3 steppings to eliminate the possibility of the TLB problem. but, it doesn't mean that ALL the current chips suffer from the bug. and certainly not everyone maxes out all four cores of their chip. overclocking the cpu past 2.4ghz may increase the chance of the bug presenting itself, but it doesnt guarantee it.
quoted from the inquirer:
"The Translation Lookaside Buffer (TLB) errata is an L3 protocol issue causing a system hang when running certain client workload applications independent of platform. AMD is immediately introducing an updated BIOS which will correct the TLB errata".

This problem was found during speed-binning the B2 revision processors, and this was the cause for the Phenom FX 3.0 GHz delay. It turns out that some CPUs running at 2.4 GHz or above in some benchmarking combinations, while all four cores are running at 100% load, can cause a system freeze.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 07:29 PM   #45 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Phenom on Newegg

Here is a slightly better priced phenom ($250) for any interested canadians:

PC VILLAGE www.pcvonline.com -- PC Computers,Laptops,Systems,Parts,Customer Services & Company solutions

I'd probably still go ncix.ca and price match tho.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 09:59 PM   #46 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Phenom on Newegg

oh........the 9600 was delayed too? WTF??

great.....now i have no choice but to get the 9500 for Christmas.

so r all the Phenoms infected, including the 9500s? I now am having a tough time deciding on what Phenom to get because i want my computer up n running again by Christmas n idk if i can handle waiting until January to upgrade.

this is exactly what has been holding the Phenoms' full potentail back, more so of the 9700.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 01:03 AM   #47 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Phenom on Newegg

It turns out that some CPUs running at 2.4 GHz or above in some benchmarking combinations, while all four cores are running at 100% load, can cause a system freeze

so yes, the 9500's can be considered part of the "some cpu's" because they are talking about all the Agenas.
what they mean is that you might have this problem if you have a Phenom running @ or above 2.4ghz, and that includes overclocking them past 2.4ghz.
the possibility is there, and it is obviously likely enough that it gives give AMD pause about releasing the 9700, which runs at 2.4ghz.
i'd think about it. B3 not too far away. at least let some more in depth overclocking reviews come out.
there are several that have overclocked them fine past that speed.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 02:35 AM   #48 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default Re: Phenom on Newegg

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kisskerven View Post
As for the q6600 beating it.. uh.. keep in mind the 9700 isn't here yet- and the q6600 is not true native... oh and the OC thing.. well yea.. if you OC something.. it should perform better then something NOT OC.... but then again you can OC AMD's much better... or at least you have been able to in the past.

Lmao, what a terrible post. What's the point of mentioning that it's a native quad core? Seriously, where's the performance boost we're seeing...oh wait...we aren't... Btw, today's intels OC way more than AMDs, by a substantial amount. The phenom wasn't supposed to compete with the non-native quad cores, it was supposed to demolish it.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 03:38 AM   #49 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Re: Phenom on Newegg

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingAustin View Post
Lmao, what a terrible post. What's the point of mentioning that it's a native quad core? Seriously, where's the performance boost we're seeing...oh wait...we aren't... Btw, today's intels OC way more than AMDs, by a substantial amount. The phenom wasn't supposed to compete with the non-native quad cores, it was supposed to demolish it.
Amen. Straight up facts people:

Higher performance per clock? .....NOPE
(A Phenom will have to be clocked higher than a C2D to match it, but the Phenoms are almost a full 1GHz behind.)

Lower cost per clock? ................NOPE
(If AMD tries to make a Phenom that will match a C2D's performance, it will always be more expensive.)

Lower cost overall? ....................NOPE
(Not even the choice for low end builders. You can buy a Q6600 for less money, and it performs better.)

Higher performance overall? .........NOPE
(Not a crown chip. Not even close. It would need to be a 4GHz at this clock efficiency to sit cozy with the crown above the C2Ds, and it would cost around $1000+.)

Phenom is/will be just a less efficient, lower clocked, lower performing, yet always more expensive chip compared to the C2D.

Why would you EVER choose it for a new build?
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 04:31 AM   #50 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Phenom on Newegg

i wouldnt put it in a new build.
nossirebob.
i'll put it in my existing one, or at least i likely will.
anyone putting it outright into a new rig is crazy.
it was different with the dual cores and the huge price difference between c2d and amd's lower chips. the phenom basically is just not priced competitively for its performance level. simple as that. i think though, bennyV that after the new year prices will settle down and at least the 9500 will become VERY competitive for its price. depends on how much intel drops the q6600, i suppose.
in any event, i think the point is well understood that the phenom is somewhat of a let down. it is also well understood that the q6600 is its true competitor, not the new generation.
i think perhaps it would be nice to have a thread with AMD and intel in it that doesnt turn into a ticking off of this versus that. most of us here understand everything thats going on...it just gets tiresome seeing the same...old...thing...in every post about these chips.
its still an interesting and possibly important advancement in technology, which no one but myself and apokalipse seem to realize. which is part of the reason we (or at least i) will be gettin one. that, and i already have an AM2 mobo lol. its also part of the reason i/we/whoever starts these threads.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
2 Phenom reviews gurusan New Systems | Building and Buying 210 11-20-2007 11:49 AM
Phenom x4 vs Intel Core 2 and Quad gurusan New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-03-2007 07:01 PM
newegg problem (double order) bmxfreakrider Off Topic Discussion 17 07-13-2007 02:23 PM
AMD Phenom processor maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-02-2007 03:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.