Phenom 9600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2008, 09:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 245
Default

Just installed the phenom 9600 in my crosshair with bios 0904 to support this processor. All works well but a couple of things i was wondering:
compared to my amdX2 6400, my windows index went from 5.4 to 5.2.... no biggie though... but I opened up cpu-z and its showing core speed of 1155.6 ,bus speed of 201.9 and HT link of 201.9... are these numbers right or am I just confused with the quad? i thought the core speed should be at 2300mhz but i dunno... can someone clarify this for me?

nvm I got t... Just had to reload factory defaults on mobo with new cpu...

nvm again.. ive got the core speed to 2300mhz but i cant get the HT link to come to around 1000mhz like it should be stock right? or am I confused with this quad core? any help is appreciated
__________________

Dainius is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 12:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Phenom 9600

the HT multi needs to be set at 5x
it's set at 1x at the moment, hence the identical speeds of the clock(bus) and the HT link.
or, your bios could be reporting it wrong.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 07:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Phenom 9600

is it Cool N' Quiet forced on?

why not disable it and show what happens
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 07:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 245
Default Re: Phenom 9600

Ive got cool and quiet disabled and the HT multi is off auto and set to 5x. Even if I move the multi around it doesnt change... I mainly use cpu-z for checking this and coretemp for both temps and freq. Are there any other programs you guys recommend to make sure its not just a software issue?
Dainius is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 08:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Phenom 9600

everest.
ntune.
there are others, but i think both of those will show hypertransport bus speed.
run superpi 1M and tell me your result.
it probably is a bug in the asus bios.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 07:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 245
Default Re: Phenom 9600

well i just decided to put back in my old AMDX2 6400... when i did that i saw my HT link didnt change one bit when it used to be at 1000mhz... so im thinking when i flasjed the bios with 0904 revision the problem musy be in there. But ive noticed that even with the phenom oc'ed the 6400 is still quite a bit faster for what I use it for... maybe ill use it in a future build but Im thinking the q6600 for my next one
Dainius is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 10:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Phenom 9600

How about the 9850 x4 BE
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 02:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Phenom 9600

After a google search, people say that BIOS 904 for the Crosshair is 'flaky'
BIOS 804 should work fine
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 06:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 245
Default Re: Phenom 9600

thanks for the replies ill check into the 9850 and the bios 0804 was told i had to go with the 0904 bios for the phenom to work but ill do some more testing soon
__________________

Dainius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom 9600 for only $150 at the egg. dario03 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 03-29-2008 02:52 PM
AMD Phenom 9600 Black KNiGHTMaRe89 New Systems | Building and Buying 42 03-04-2008 09:21 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
Phenom 9600 finally arrives to newegg Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 12 12-02-2007 02:15 PM
Phenom X4 Agena 9600: Sandra XII Benchmark Merkwürdigeliebe New Systems | Building and Buying 59 11-14-2007 07:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.