Phenom 2 in 780 gxe mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2009, 02:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Question Phenom 2 in 780 gxe mobo?

Hey, I was curious if a Phenom II 920 would work in this motherboard without updating my BIOS. And also, if I do need to flash my BIOS would I need a compatible am2+/am2 processor to do so, or would the phenom be fine?

Newegg.com - ASRock A780GXE/128M AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
__________________

blcklabl5 is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Phenom 2 in 780 gxe mobo?

Your motherboard supports Phenom II since bios version P1.30. If you don't have that version already installed, then you'll have to flash it to that.

ASRock Motherboard - Product - A780GXE/128M - CPU Support List
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 02:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Phenom 2 in 780 gxe mobo?

Now if the board does not have P1.30 do I need a different am2+ or am2 processor in order to flash it before installing my Phenom II? I'm not very familiar with the whole bios flash procedure.
blcklabl5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I think I cooked my cpu and mobo jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-03-2008 09:18 PM
AMD Phenom X3 8750 Reviewed at OCC Ste Polls 28 05-02-2008 05:51 PM
Woot finally a SLI Phenom mobo( nvidia 780a) hmammen New Systems | Building and Buying 7 12-21-2007 10:25 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.