Performance margins for ram specs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2008, 04:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Exclamation Performance margins for ram specs

A great article:
Memory and Performance--The Final Word - CPUs, Boards & Components by ExtremeTech
which also links to a prior article where they discuss the benefits of 2gb vs 4gb
some things I learned reading this

1. I knew timings and clock speeds had a small difference in overall performance but their tests show in many cases less then a 3% difference, its almost mind boggling how much trouble people go through to OC their ram and see how little different it makes

2. That crappy kingston value ram isn't really that far behind in performance from the Corsair high end model, even when it comes to ddr2 667 vs 1033!

3. I really should look into getting 4 gigs of ram come november where hopefully even better deals are out then they already are

4. I hate the fact theres like gazillions of different ram types for each company with confusing names and such
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Performance margins for ram specs

The only reason I bother overclocking my ram, is because it's directly linked to the fsb.

If my ram won't overclock neither will my CPU.

if I want to hit 500 fsb my ram has to at least overclock to ddr1000

If I used 667, I'd never break 3600mhz.

As far as performance differences for just the ram speeds, yeah I agree, negligable. but if it won't overclock well, forget it.

(some motherboards can unlink the multiplier and it doesn't matter so much, but I can't with this one :/)
__________________

__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 01:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Performance margins for ram specs

Yeh i thought that was pretty much the case. But i do still think there is a case for tighter timings, and more ram making games smoother and lessens stuttering. Benchmarks dont show that sort of thing, cause they only show fps.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista SP1 Performance and Tuning, Courtesy of Microsoft KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-30-2008 06:47 PM
Dialup Speed, Tweaking slow performance SpenceQ Overclocking and Modding 8 12-01-2007 03:12 PM
Half Life 2: Episode 2 Quick Performance Preview Osiris PC Gaming 4 10-10-2007 04:13 PM
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.